Sections

Weather Forecast

Close

Lake Superior

May 22, 2019
Happy River breaks through the fog on Lake Superior as it enters Duluth in early May. The cargo ship from Amsterdam was carrying wind turbine towers to offload at the Clure Public Marine Terminal Expansion. (Samantha Erkkila / serkkila@duluthnews.com)
Bustling Duluth-Superior port awarded for international heft
May 22, 2019 - 11:36am
May 14, 2019
Fifth-grade students from Four Corners Elementary peer into the final clarifier pools at the city of Superior Wastewater Treatment Plant on Friday, May 10. (Maria Lockwood / mlockwood@superiortelegram.com)
Fifth-graders track Superior wastewater treatment
May 14, 2019 - 5:18am
April 27, 2019
Rivers2Lake program educates teachers about Lake Superior
April 27, 2019 - 6:35pm
April 12, 2019
A man walks toward his car in Canal Park after viewing Lake Superior during an early spring snowstorm Thursday afternoon. Tyler Schank / tschank@duluthnews.com.
More snow, lower wind speeds expected Friday
April 12, 2019 - 8:20am
April 11, 2019
Rocks and debris glaze over with ice along the Lakewalk on Thursday. Peter Baumann / pbaumann@duluthnews.com.play button
Update: High winds cause damage in the Northland
April 11, 2019 - 2:56pm
April 6, 2019
Superior Public Museums seeks volunteers for SS Meteor cleanup
April 6, 2019 - 5:53pm
March 25, 2019
3 freighters stopped by lake ice
March 25, 2019 - 8:34am
March 22, 2019
The Kaye E. Barker makes its way under the Aerial Lift Bridge Friday afternoon. (Michelle Truax / mtruax@duluthnews.com)play button
Video: First ship leaves Twin Ports
March 22, 2019 - 4:45pm
March 18, 2019
A Wisconsin scientist who discovered mini-tsunamis on the Great Lakes says those “meteotsunamis” are a major cause of rip currents. Telegram file
UW-Madison professor: Great Lakes tsunamis found to spur rip currents
March 18, 2019 - 4:19am
March 15, 2019
The most recent clear-weather satellite photo of Lake Superior, taken March 12, appears to show the big lake's winter ice starting to break up. The estimate of ice cover on the lake peaked at 95 percent earlier in March and now sits about 80 percent. NOAA photo.
Lake Superior ice breaking up
March 15, 2019 - 10:42am
March 14, 2019
The U.S. Coast Guard heavy icebreaker Mackinaw widens a channel through the ice in the harbor in March 2013. The Mackinaw will be back in the Twin Ports next week, along with the Duluth-based cutter Alder, to help break ice in preparation for the upcoming shipping season. (2013 file / News Tribune)
Coast Guard plans shipping breakout
March 14, 2019 - 11:54am
March 6, 2019
A satellite image of Lake Superior ice cover on March 5, 2019. Photo courtesy of NOAA
Brrrr! Lake Superior reaches 90 percent ice cover
March 6, 2019 - 11:24am
February 18, 2019
Courtesy of Wisconsin Sea Grant Chin Wu, left, a civil and environmental engineer and professor at the University of Wisconsin, and Coastal Engineer Gene Clark of Wisconsin Sea Grant, size up the mainland sea caves at the Apostle Island National Lakeshore. The pair, along with Wu’s graduate students designed and installed the system that supports SeaCavesWatch.org.
Wisconsin Sea Grant engineer retires
February 18, 2019 - 4:38am
January 25, 2019
Anglers voice frustration over Lake Superior agreement
January 25, 2019 - 6:21pm
January 11, 2019
The Tim S. Dool sits in dry dock near the William A. Irvin at Fraser Shipyards in Superior on Tuesday, Jan. 8. The 730-foot long Canadian freighter is owned by Algoma Central. Clint Austin / caustin@duluthnews.com
End in sight for shipping season
January 11, 2019 - 9:40am