Weather Forecast


SPARTAN ROUND-UP: Plunkett runs at state; all-conference team named

Superior High School’s Max Plunkett competes in the 400-meter dash Friday at the WIAA Division 1 State Track & Field Championships in La Crosse. (Bob Burrows /

Superior High School senior Max Plunkett finished in 22nd place out of 24 runners in the three preliminary races Friday at the WIAA State Track & Field Championships with a time of 52.09.

Colin Enz of Neenah had the fastest preliminary time of 49.0 seconds then won the final on Saturday in 49.03.


Five Spartans were named to the Lake Superior Conference All-Conference Softball Team.

Senior Erin Thompson and junior Madysen Stariha were named first-team, and seniors Olivia Hunker and Alee Milinkovich-Gray and junior Autumn Siers were second-team selections.

Lake Superior Conference

2018 All-Conference Softball Team

First Team

Erin Hawk, 11, Proctor; Hannah Mihalik, 11, Hermantown; Madysen Starina, 11, SHS; Erin Thompson, 12, SHS; Shelby Johnson, 12, Denfeld; Lucy Sinkkonen, 9, Cloquet; Kayla Nelson, 12, Denfeld; Jenna Reynolds, 12, Hermantown; Dana Jones, 8, Cloquet.

Second Team

Autumn Siers, 11, SHS; Olivia Hunker, 12, SHS; Sarah Urban, 11, Proctor; Ally Martin, 12, Cloquet; Gabby Blomdahl, 11, Hermantown; Alee Milinkovich-Gray, 12, SHS; Alana Mayry, 12, Hermantown; Tayler Trubachik, 12, Ashland; Gianna Torres, 11., Denfeld.

Honorable Mention

Lori Perich, Proctor; Katelyn Ewer, Hermantown; Haley Larson, Denfeld; Brenna McClarey, Cloquet; Shelby Peil, Cloquet.

Boys Golf

Junior’s Taylor Burger and Grant Sorensen were named all-conference in boys golf.

Burger was a first-team pick, while Sorensen was named to the second team.

Lake Superior Conference

2018 Boys All-Conference Golf Team

First Team

Gavin Douglas, 12; Ashland; Tucker D’Allaird, 8, Marshall School; Keegan Poppenberg, 11, Cloquet; Sam Baker, 9, Cloquet; Cyrus Behinia, 9, Denfeld; Taylor Burger, 11, SHS.

Second Team

Scott Gregor, 11, Ashland; Grant Sorensen, 11, SHS; T.J. Sitek, 11, SHS; Matt Radovich, 12, Cloquet; Trevor Steinart, 9, Cloquet; Zach Carson, 10, Hermantown.

Luke Drougas

Luke Drougas, who graduated from SHS on Saturday, signed a tender to play with the Johnstown Tomahawks of the North American Hockey League.

Drougas, a defenseman, was second in scoring for Superior last season with 13 goals and 12 assists.

Drougas also had three assists in seven games for the Madison Capitals in the NAPHL 18U league this spring. He also played three games for the North Iowa Bulls in the NA3HL.

Caden Tchop

Caden Tchop, who played on Superior’s 2015 state championship team, has signed a letter of intent to play hockey for the Waldorf University Warriors, a NAIA school in Forest City, Iowa.

Tchop played the last two seasons for the Florida Eels of the United States Premier Hockey League, scoring 18 goals with 31 assists in 78 games.

“It’s definitely exciting to lock down four years of my life,” Tchop said of signing with Waldorf.

Coach Brett Shelanski added of the 5-foot-7 forward: “I think the biggest thing that jumps out at us is the way that he competes and the way he goes about his business. He’s just the kind of character guy and kind of player we’re trying to build our program with.

“Caden’s a forward who has the ability to play both wings, which is a plus, too.”

Tchop joined the Eels after finishing his high school career at Superior High School in the spring of 2016, where he had a goal and three assists in 20 games as a senior.

NOTES: Waldorf plays its home games out of Albert Lea, Minn., which is right across the border from Iowa.

Girls soccer

The Spartans’ season ended with a 16-0 loss to No. 1 seed Eau Claire Memorial Thursday in Eau Claire.

Abigail Stow scored five goals for the Old Abes, who didn’t allow a shot on goal.

The Old Abes then defeated Hudson 3-0 in the Division 1 regional championship game on Saturday and hosts No. 3 Stevens Point in a sectional semifinal game Thursday.

Superior 0 0 — 0

ECM 11 5 — 16

Track and field

The LSC handed out its all-conference honors for boys and girls track and field and boys golf for the 2018 spring season.

Individuals honored for the Spartan boys were Steven Pearson (200), Gunnar Gronski (300 hurdles), James Kirchoff (pole vault) and Lars Root (shot put).

The Superior boys were also all-conference on two relays — 4x100 (Robin Preston, Pearson, Cody Kurki, Matthew Buerger) and 4x200 (Preston, Buerger, Pearson, Evan Wearing).

Adrianne Krueger (100 hurdles) was the only Spartan girls honored.

Lake Superior Conference

2018 Boys All-Conference Track Team

Individual Boys

100 — Wryott Gerson, 11, Denfeld; Aahsan Maigag, 12, Cloquet.

200 — Gershon, 11, Denfeld; Steve Pearson, 11, Superior.

400 — Mason Thedens, 12, Hermantown; Blaine Bong, 11, Cloquet.

800 — David Birkeland, 12, Hermantown; Bong, 11, Cloquet.

1,600 — Walker Miller, 12, Ashland; Maury Miller, 12, Ashland.

3,200 — Maury Miller, 12, Ashland; Walker Miller, 12, Ashland.

110-meter hurdles — David Cornelius, 11, Hermantown; Cody Hampton, 12, Proctor.

300-meter hurdles — Gunnar Gronski, 12, Superior; Alex Leuzzo, 11, Cloquet.

High jump — Gerson, 11, Denfeld; Conner St. Germaine, 10, Proctor.

Pole vault — Eli Benson, 11, Cloquet; James Kirchoff, 12, Superior.

Long jump — Gerson, 11, Denfeld, Justin Miller, 11, Ashland.

Triple jump — Alex Leuzzo, 11, Cloquet; Riley Leslie, 11, Cloquet.

Shot put — Dylan Lauer, 12, Cloquet; Lars Root, 11, Superior.

Discus throw — Lauer, 12, Cloquet; Grant Steger, 10, Dendeld.

At Large — Jack Burt, 12, Marshall School


4x100 — Superior (Robin Preston, Pearson, Cody Kurki, Matthew Buerger).

4x200 — Superior (Preston, Buerger, Pearson, Evan Wearing).

4x400 — Hermantown (Mark Monte, David Birkeland, Darby Gamradt, Mason Thedens).

4x800 — Hermantown ( Monte Jr., Zach Zotti, Birkeland, Thedens).

Individual Girls

100 — Kendra Kelley, 11, Cloquet; Katelyn Kelley, 9, Cloquet.

200 — Ke. Kelley, 11, Cloquet; Ka. Kelley, 9, Cloquet.

400 — Ke. Kelley, 11, Cloquet; Courtney Werner, 9, Proctor.

800 — Brita Birkeland, 10, Hermantown; Ashlee Siegle, 11, Marshall School.

1,600 — Siegle, 11, Marshall School; Ella Bauer, 9, Ashland.

3,200 — Sydney Binsfield, 11, Proctor; Bauer, 9, Ashland.

100-meter hurdles — Adrianne Krueger, 9, Superior; Kelly Lorenz, 11, Cloquet.

300-meter hurdles — Allison Anderson, 9, Hermantown; Lorenz, 11 Cloquet

High jump — Ellie Gamradt, 12, Hermantown; Anderson, 9, Hermantown.

Pole vault — Bailey Nuutinen, 11, Ashland; Payton Schneberger, 11, Cloquet.

Long jump — Ke. Kelley, 11, Cloquet; Gamradt, 12, Hermantown.

Triple jump — Gamradt, 12, Hermantown; Anderson, 9, Hermantown.

Shot put — Makayla Suominen, 11, Cloquet; Maddie Dostal, 10, Cloquet.

Discus throw — Suominen, 11, Cloquet; Payton Anderson, 11, Cloquet.


4x100 — Hermantown (Alexys Lewis, Gamradt, Macy Sieger, Kellyn Biondi).

4x200 — Cloquet (Erin Turner, Natalie Spath, Sydney Wick, Katelyn Kelley).

4x400 — Hermantown (Maiah Christianson, Anderson, Macie Sisson, Birkeland).

4x800 — Hermantown (Christianson, Addie Peterson, Birkeland).