Weather Forecast


3 local athletes advance to state track meet

Northwestern High School junior Abigail Nelson is seeded second among WIAA Division 2 pole vaulters heading into this weekend’s WIAA State Track and Field Championships at UW-La Crosse. (Jed Carlson / 1 / 3
Superior High School’s Max Plunkett, shown here winning the 400-meter dash in the WIAA Division 1 regional at Superior’s NBC Spartan Sports Complex, will run in the WIAA State Track & Field Championships this weekend at UW-La Crosse. (Jed Carlson / / 3
Katie Lundeen3 / 3

Northern Wisconsin will be represented by three local athletes at the WIAA State Track and Field Championships this weekend at Veterans Memorial Stadium Complex on the campus of UW-La Crosse.

Superior High School’s Max Plunkett will be running in the 400-meter dash, while Northwestern’s High School’s Abigail Nelson and Katie Lundeen will be competing in the pole vault and shot put, respectively.

Max Plunkett

Plunkett advanced to the Division 1 state meet with a second-place finish at last week’s sectional at D.C. Everest. He began his run to state by winning the regional title at Superior’s NBC Spartan Sports Complex.

Plunkett will run in the second of three preliminary heats today (Friday). Races begin at 9:30 a.m. and the 400 is scheduled to be the fifth event to run.

Plunkett’s sectional time of 51.86 seconds is the 23rd fastest time out of 24 runners. Plunkett won his regional title with a time of 51.50.

Senior Jose Guzman of Ashwaubenon is the two-time defending champion in the 400-meter dash. He returns this year as the seventh-fastest qualifier with a time of 50.86.

The 400 finals are scheduled for Saturday.

NOTE: Plunkett finished in 22nd place out of 24 runners in the 400 preliminary races on Friday with a time of 52.09. ... Colin Enz of Neenah had the fastest preliminary time of 49.0 seconds.

Katie Lundeen

Lundeen, a senior, advanced to state in the shot put with a sectional toss of 39 feet, 7.25 inches, which is the No. 8 seed out of 16 athletes.

Somerset sophomore Eve Goldstein is the No. 1 seed with a toss of 43-0.

The shot put is scheduled for 3 p.m. today (Friday).

Lundeen was the 2018 Superior Telegram Girls Basketball Player of the Year and will play basketball with the Finlandia Lions next season.

Abigail Nelson

Nelson, a junior, and Gabrielle Kennedy, a senior from St. Thomas More, are the No. 2 seeds in the pole vault with heights of 11-feet.

Dailey Albino, a senior from New Berlin West, is the No. 1 seed. She won the Division 1 championship last year and qualified for state this year with the top vault of 11-6.

This will be Nelson’ third trip to state. She finished 12th in last year’s state meet and fifth as a freshman. Her best vaults both years were 10-0.

The pole vault event is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. Saturday.

NOTES: Kimberly High School has 17 competitors participating in the D1 boys meet with 22 total entries in all events, including 19 individual events and three relays to lead the rest of the division. Wauwatosa is next with 13 total entries with four relays and a total of 18 competitors. … Jefferson leads all teams in the D2 girls meet with 15 total event entries, including 14 competitors participating in 12 individual events and three relays. Fox Valley Lutheran has the second-most total entries with nine competitors in seven individual events and three relays. …  This is the 123rd state meet for the boys and the 48th for the girls.

D1 Boys 400-Meter Dash

Heat 1 Prelims

2 Jared Jenkins Verona 50.94

3 Alex Kramer Marquette 50.67

4 Chase Roberts Wauw. East 50.19

5 Lincoln Stultz Ocon. 49.65

6  Luke Rapisarda Reedsburg 49.69

7  Mason Guell Plymouth 50.21

8  Noah Selensky Franklin 50.68

9  Niko Zoller River Falls 51.54

Heat 2 Prelims

2  Evan Wendland Osh. West          50.91

3 Charlie Sauter Notre Dame 50.40

4 Pierce Narges Pulaski 50.11

5 Rod.-Richards Milw. King 49.58

6 Andrew Stinson LC Central      49.72

7 Ethan Krueger Ken. Ind. 50.26

8 Devon Davey Elkhorn          50.85

9  Max Plunkett Superior              51.86

Heat 3 Prelims

2 S. Halusan N.B. Eisen 50.90

3 Ethan King Ken. Bradford 50.29

4 Jack Mathison Waunakee 49.87

5 David Young Pewaukee 49.05

6 Colin Enz Neenah 49.73

7 Derek Davey Elkhorn 50.28

8 Jose Guzman Ashwaubenon 50.86

9 Payton Flood River Falls 52.00

D1 Girls Shot Put

Flight 1 Finals

1 Chloe Bunker Monroe             35-8.75

2 Sydney Schultz Mayville           35-9.00

3 Cate Heup Milw. Luth. 35-10.50

4 Gabby Ritchie PduChien 36-10.00

5 Hayley Nichols Stan.-Boyd 37-0.50

6 Mac Monty New London 37-3.00

7 Allison Antonie Sheb. Falls 37-5.50

8 Sydney Flier Waupun 38-2.00

Flight 2  Finals

1  Katie Lundeen NW 39-7.25

2  Emily Stendel Jefferson 39-8.50

3  Mac. Huber Colby 39-9.50

4  Emily Cohen Brillion 40-8.00

5  Skye Digman Platteville 40-9.50

6  Brooke Kary K.M. Luth. 40-10.75

7  Kiara Wedell Wautoma 42-3.50

8  Eve Goldstein Somerset 43-0.00

D2 Girls Pole Vault

Flight 1  Finals

1  Jackie Martin Wrightstown 9-9

2  Bailey Nuutinen Ashland 10-0

3  Jacq. Gerovac N.B. West 10-0

4  Lauren Rottier Seymour 10-0

5  Jessica Jacobson Clinton 10-3

6  Caroline Gearin. Osceola 10-3

7  Aleya Stibbe Rich. Center 10-3

8  Jenna Thomas Rich. Center 10-3

9  Abby Meidl Kewaskum 10-6

10  Grace Grimm Amery 10-6

11  Abby Rynes Richland Center 10-6

12  A. Tomazevic Freedom 10-9

13  Erin Schuh Seymour 10-9

14  Gab. Kennedy St.T. More 11-0

15  Abigail Nelson NW 11-0

16  Dailey Albino N. Berlin West 11-6