The University of Wisconsin-Superior track and field teams dominated the UMAC women’s and men’s all-conference teams that were release earlier this week.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

The Yellowjacket women had eight athletes honored, including senior Svenja Ruehl, who was named the UMAC Field Athlete of the Meet for the third straight year.

The UWS men had 12 athletes honored, along with Glen Drexler, who picked up his second straight UMAC Coach of the Year honor.

The UWS women also won the team sportsmanship award and the individual sportsmanship award winners were Hannah Kivela, a freshman from Hibbing, and Joe Olinger, a senior from Lindstrom, Minn.


Ruehl’s three-peat

Ruehl is the UMAC Women’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Meet for the third straight year.

At last week’s UMAC championships, Ruehl swept the jumps for a third year in a row in record-setting fashion, including breaking her own meet record in the long jump with a winning leap of 5.39 meters (17-8.25), which ranks her in the top 35 nationally and second in the Central Region.

Ruehl then set a new facility record - in the Yellowjackets’ own Lydia C. Therig Fieldhouse - for the triple jump with a mark of 11.51 meters (37-9.25). This was a season-best mark, which is currently 22nd in Division III and just outside of contention for national championship.

Ruehl also collected a second-place finish in the 60-meter dash.


Women’s honors

Among the UWS women honored, Maria Mazo, Taylor Phillips and Valerie Rowe were double winners.

For the first time in her career, Maria Mazo (Hendaye, France) won the 60-meter hurdles and finished second in the high jump.

Former Superior Spartan Taylor Phillips and Eagan’s Kelli Praska each earned their third selection after wins in the shot put (11.65 meters) and the 800-meter (2:26.16) run, respectively, on Saturday.

Phillips has led the conference all season in throws, while Praska holds the top times in the top times in both the 800-meter and the mile.

Another first-time recipient was Waukesha’s Kate Schwerman, who was an integral part of the 4x200-meter and 4x400-meter teams.

LeAnn Torgerson of Two Harbors, a second-time honoree, was a member of the winning 4x200-meter team and she also competed in the 1,600-meter relay and 400-meter throughout the season.

The two other members of the 4x200 meter relay team, Valerie Rowe and Mikaela Shepard, collected their second and first selections. Both took second with the 4x400-meter relay, while Rowe grabbed second in the pole vault, and Shepard second in the 400-meter.

Superior will look to solidify their positions at Saturday’s Pointer Final Qualifier.


Men’s honors

Cloquet’s Rand Bieri was the top performer at the UMAC Championships, taking first in three events including the 800-meter run, 4x400-meter relay and DMR.

Also part of the first-place 4x400-meter relay team were Eddie Carlson (South St. Paul), Matt Carlson (Duluth), Jake Weston (Virginia, Minn.) and Evan Walpole (Superior).

Walpole also won the mile run in 4:36.44.

The 4x200-meter relay team of Alex Dzikonski (South Range), Cole Gelhar (McGregor, Minn.), Noah Potratz (Ripon, Wis.) and Olinger also saw first place last Friday, combing for a 1:33.89, good for their second All-UMAC selection, except Gelhar who earned his first.

Jordan Koski (Park Falls) saw his second selection to the All-UMAC team after winning 3,000-meter run and finishing second in the 5,000-meter run.

Henry Habermann (Proctor) was second in the high jump to get his second all-conference selection.

Rounding out the field athletes was Fauston Wirtz (Esko) won the weight throw and placed in the shot put.