Top-notch competitors

Northwestern's Donny Pooler and Superior's Daisy White both placed 10th in their respective events at the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Track and Field Championships over the weekend.

Caroline Becker
Superior High School senior Caroline Becker clears the bar at 4 feet, 10 inches Saturday at the Division 1 state track and field meet Saturday in La Crosse. (Photo by Kelly Randolph)

Northwestern’s Donny Pooler and Superior’s Daisy White both placed 10th in their respective events at the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association Track and Field Championships over the weekend.

White, a senior, competed in the WIAA Division 1 girls discus throw. She was the first to throw in the top flight had a foul on her first attempt. On her second throw, White rebounded for a distance of 119 feet, which would stand as her best of six attempts.

Pooler ran in the WIAA Division 2 boys 1,600-meter race. He stood 13th after one lap but then moved up to eighth before finishing 10th in 4 minutes, 32.88 seconds.

Also for the Tigers, sophomore Abby Nelson took 12th in the Division 2 girls pole vault with a vault of 9-6.

Caroline Becker placed 23rd for the Spartans in the Division 1 girls high jump by clearing 4-10.



Division 1 Girls

Discus throw - 1. Josie Schaefer, Baraboo, 163-8; 2. Natalie Mohring, D.C. Everest, 134-2; 3. Erin Dunning, Ashwaubenon, 130-9; 4. Kelsey Judge, Baraboo, 130-3; 5. Amanda Sabourin, Westosha Central, 128-10; 6. Alyssa Rivest, Watertown, 128-9; 7. Kenni Czarnecki, Muskego, 125-7; 8. Lauren Lietzke, Appleton West, 123-6; 9. Tayla Stuttley, Onalaska, 119-7; 10. Daisy White, Superior, 119-0; 11. Jenna Dankert, Oak Creek, 118-0; 12. Cece Huhn, Plymouth, 117-0; 13. Morgan Jacek, Watertown, 115-6; 14. Lizzy Cagle, Brookfield East, 112-9; 15. Sam Danczyk, Stevens Point, 108-7; 16. Caty Abitz, Madison La Follette, 105-11; 17. Micky Barrette, Mukwonago, 103-10; 18. Julia Hartwig, Janesville Parker, 103-6; 18. Casey Garza, Grafton, 103-6; 20. HaLena Lassiter, West Allis Hale, 102-9; 21. Grace Tollar, Neenah, 102-3; 22. Alexis Watts, Green Bay East, 97-11; 23. Hannah Ultowski, Arrowhead, 96-4; 24. Claudia Lecher, Brookfield East, 93-3.

High jump - 1. Emily Scott, Kimberly, 5-8; 2. Lindsey Mirkes, De Pere, 5-6; 3. Abigail Belschner, Cedarburg, 5-4; 4. Eleni Tongas, Brookfield East, 5-4; 4. Annie Guerrero, West Bend East, 5-4; 6. Marin McClowry, Neenah, 5-4; 7. Ally Rilling, Homestead, 5-4; 8. Amber Chevalier, Kimberly, 5-2; 9. Destiny Huven, Nicolet, 5-2; 10. Morgan Briggs, Portage, 5-2; 11. Gabby Pinnow, Elkhorn Area, 5-2; 11. Nadia Vo, Franklin, 5-2; 13. Breanna Weigman, Wauwatosa West, 5-2; 14. Maddy Harrison, Muskego, 5-0; 15. Abi Stevens, West Allis Hale, 5-0; 16. Katie Chesebro, Milton, 5-0; 16. Sophee Mink, DeForest, 5-0; 16. Tori DePerry, Shawano, 5-0; 19. Aubrey Tesch, Fort Atkinson, 5-0; 20. Kylee Jostad, Holmen, 5-0; 21. Brooke Jende, Pewaukee, 4-10; 21. Mason Wylie, Oak Creek, 4-10; 23. Caroline Becker, Superior, 4-10; 23. Kylie Mogen, Menomonie, 4-10.

Division 2 Boys

1600-meter run - 1. Dustin Hatfield, River Valley, 4:16.69; 2. Clark Otte, Sheboygan Falls, 4:16.96; 3. Luke Bailey, Xavier, 4:20.79; 4. Trevor Wenzel, Valders, 4:27.30; 5. Andrew Pahnke, McFarland, 4:27.87; 6. Maury Miller, Ashland, 4:28.24; 7. Hayden Fredrickson, Westby, 4:29.08; 8. Walker Miller, Ashland, 4:30.21; 9. Dan Iselin, Platteville, 4:32.42; 10. Donny Pooler, Northwestern, 4:32.88; 11. Evan Harding, East Troy, 4:33.27; 12. Hunter Liebeck, Luxemburg-Casco, 4:35.87; 13. Kyle Miller, Waupun, 4:36.26; 14. Nate Fox, East Troy, 4:37.01; 15. Kavanaugh Fitzpatrick, Lakeland, 4:38.71; 16. Ma’Rico Holland II, Dominican, 4:45.72.

Division 2 Girls

Pole vault - 1. Brielle Buechler, Wrightstown, 11-9; 2. Linse Wilbur, Westby, 11-6; 3. Kelly Jacoby, Roncalli, 11-3; 4. Danielle Schilling, Lakeside Lutheran, 11-0; 5. Caroline Gearin, Osceola, 10-6; 6. Gabrielle Kennedy, St. Thomas More, 10-6; 7. Kimi Robertson, Antigo, 10-6; 8. Kayla Mielke, Freedom, 10-6; 9. Amber Heidenreich, Hayward, 10-0; 10. Jenna Thomas, Richland Center, 10-0; 11. Lauren Rottier, Seymour, 10-0; 12. Abigail Nelson, Northwestern, 9-6; 13. Josie Eberle, Monroe, 9-6; 14. Amy Chen, Mayville, 9-0; 15. Michaela Evans, East Troy, 9-0; 16. Lindsey Goessl, Shoreland Lutheran, NH.



Heart O’ North

Athletes from the Heart O’ North Conference had a strong showing in the Division 2 meet Friday and Saturday.

Bloomer’s Kyra Arendt set a new Division 2 state meet record en route to her victory in the triple jump. The senior won with a distance of 40-8.25, eclipsing the previous record mark of 38-4 set by Nekoosa’s Hillary Hyland in 1997.

Bloomer also notched a second-place finish in the girls 4x400 relay. The Blackhawks crossed the line in 3:59.84, just behind winner Wittenberg-Birnamwood (3:58.28).

The Hayward Hurricanes also had a state champion. Gabby Snider won the long jump by nearly six inches with her jump of 18-6.5. The senior recorded the winning mark on her first of six attempts.

Taylor Snider placed third in the triple jump for Hayward, which finished ninth in the team standings with 23 points.

Bloomer finished eighth with 24 points.



Lake Superior Conference

The Ashland Oredockers returned from the Division 2 meet with a state champion in the girls 800-meter run.

Senior Aneesa Tucker won the event in 2:16.04. Tucker entered the race with the second fastest seed time and shaved two seconds off that time to win.

For the boys, Ashland’s Miller twins recorded three top-10 finishes between them.

Maury Miller finished sixth in the 1,600-meter run with a time of 4:28.24, while Walker Miller took eighth in the 1,600 in a time of 4:30.21 and seventh in the 3,200 in 9:58.63.


All-division record


Rice Lake’s Kenny Bednarek broke his own record time in the 400-meter dash to set the all-division state meet record Saturday in the Division 2 Championships.

The junior finished nearly two seconds ahead of the runner-up with his time of 46.82 seconds. The previous 400-meter record came from Division 1, where Brian Jones of Nicolet had a time of 47.12 in 1990.

Bednarek also won the 200-meter dash Saturday by one-hundredth of a second over Kyle Thomas of River Valley.

Bednarek is now the two-time defending champion in both events. He is also the only runner in state history with a sub 47-second time in the 400-meter dash. The junior has managed the feat twice so far - running a 46.19 in sectional competition and then following with his 46.82 time at the state meet.

What To Read Next
Get Local