Top Hat’s Stroke of Luck wins Trailblazers title

Season-ending award winners announced


The 24th season of the Superior Trailblazers Pool League was cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the winner was all but decided already when the “shelter in place” order began.

Behind a record of 89-21 and an all-time league best winning percentage of 80%, Top Hat Tavern’s Stroke of Luck was crowned the 2019-20 champion.

The five-man team, which is captained by Rick Nagle and outscored its opponents by 1,169 points, includes Ed Johnson, Dave Reisland, Lance Kiminski and Stan Sunde.

All five players finished with an average of 9.1 or better and the team combined to win 75% of its games played.

Rounding out the top five were Top Hat 4 (76½-33½); last year’s champion Top Hat Mad Hatters (75-35); Hudy’s Mafia (73-37); and Top Hat 502 (70-40).


Season-ending award winners were:

Most Valuable Player

Tom Wasserman, Top Hat 502

Wasserman led the way for the Top Hat 502 this season, keeping them in the hunt for second place for most of the year.

Wasserman has played in the Trailblazers league since the beginning 25 years ago and on the inaugural episode of the “Chalk is Cheap” Podcast. He credits his abilities to his time learning the game at Helen’s Pool Hall in the early 1970s.

He was voted the unanimous MVP from the league operator and president, the captains and players

“I am highly honored, it’s nice to be recognized for something like this,” Wasserman said.

Runners up: 2. Ed Johnson 3. Mike Walkowiak 4. Derak Gergen 5. Brett Ulvila.

Most Improved Player

Tim Bourgeois, Capri

Bourgeois had an amazing season for the Capri Bar improving in all statistical categories. He won nearly 60% of his games, finished with a 8.1 average, and his consistent play kept the Capri in the top 10 in the standings for almost the entire year.

He was voted Most Improved unanimously from the league operator and president, the captains and players.


Runners up: 2. Jeno Born 3. Cole Bleskan.

Rookie of the Year

Nick Bullock, Champions Lounge

Bullock played his first full season in the Trailblazers and finished the season with an average north of 6.0, which helped Champions to its best-ever finish, ending the season in 13th position.

“I was so pumped to win the award,” Bullock said.

Runners up: 2. Tim Laine 3. Darren Velin.

What To Read Next
Get Local