Superior’s Orr notches win at BIR

BRAINERD, Minn. -- Superior's Dennis Orr won the finals in the Real Street Unlimited class recently during the 28th Annual GSTA Muscle Car Shootout at the Brainerd International Raceway.

Dennis Orr

BRAINERD, Minn. - Superior’s Dennis Orr won the finals in the Real Street Unlimited class recently during the 28th Annual GSTA Muscle Car Shootout at the Brainerd International Raceway.

The event also included the Sports Car Club of America Jack Pine Sprints on BIR’s 2.5-mile Competition Road Course.

Orr swept the Real Street Unlimited series and locked up the series championship.

Driving a 1970 Camaro, Orr narrowly beat Jesse Nelson, Mountain Iron, Minn., in the finals with a time of 7.890 seconds at 180.69 mph. Nelson ran 8.040 seconds at 174.53 mph.

Bob Wallin, also of Superior, lost to Rob Wilczek of Little Falls, Minn., in the Real Street Natural final.


Following are results from the finals of each class:


Pro Outlaw - Ray Fuchs, Bowman, N.D., def. Joseph Wilczek, Little Falls

Outlaw - Greg Schmidt, Brainerd, def. Jake Delmoico, St. Paul Park

King Street - Brian Mahnke, Proctor, def. Ryan Baker, Isanti

Real Street Unlimited - Dennis Orr, Superior, def. Jesse Nelson, Mountain Iron

Real Street Natural - Rob Wilczek, Little Falls, def. Bob Wallin, Superior

True Street - Todd Malik, Coon Rapids, def. Jason Nelson, Champlin


Outlaw Street 660 - Dan Boyko, Winnipeg, Manitoba, def. Brian Carpenter, Forest Lake

Index Class Champion - Kevin Sand, Cambridge, def. Gary Olson, Sartell

Strip Eliminator 1 - Kevin Sand, Cambridge, def. Barry Arendts, Stanchfield

Strip Eliminator 2 - Gary Olson, Sartell, def. Don Fotti, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Strip Eliminator 3 - Paulina Backstrom, Grand Marais, def. James Witschen, Monticello

Truck Eliminator - Dick Zeman, Thief River Falls, def. Derek Rasmusson, Cohasset

Manual Transmission - David Youngblom, LeSuer, def. Jeremy Reitmeier, Crookston

9.50 Index - Pat Huebner, Bloomington, def. David Imgrund, Brainerd


10.00 Index - Kevin Sand, Cambridge, def. Brian Peterson, Park Rapids

10.50 Index - Jim Lane, Brainerd, def. Roger Peterson, Osage

11.50 Index - Adam Legatt, Little Falls, def. Karl Eckhart, Pequot Lakes

12.00 Index - Jeff Purdham, St. Michael, def. Daniel Richter, Eden Valley

12.50 Index - Gary Olson, Sartell, def. Greg Bednar, Mapleton

13.00 Index - Eric Blumke, Pillager, def. Charles Siegel, Carver

13.50 Index - Troy Novak, Rice, def. Josh Maras, Farmington

  - Todd Anderson, Brainerd, def. Mike Simons, Pine City


Winners crowned on Garfield Avenue

Champions were crowned Sunday, Sept. 11 at the 10th annual Kia of Duluth Drag Races on Garfield Avenue.

Dave Flewelling won the new Alcohol Dragsters division, while other champions were Brand McCann (Class A); Jeff Quinones (Class B); Rod Flood (Class C); and Vern Laurin (C-plus Division).

What To Read Next
NASCAR on Ice, an ice racing event featuring NASCAR drivers and retired cars, was postponed a second time on Wednesday due to ice conditions.
Ice cross racers are competing in three divisions during multiple days of competition at Mont du Lac Resort in Superior as part of the U.S. Ice Cross Association's annual ATSX 250 event.
Three-day Ski de She camp and clinic in Cable will include Olympic champion Kikkan Randall.
Local bowling scores.