Weather Forecast


Barno, Jepkurgat claim victories at Grandma’s Marathon

DULUTH — Kenya’s Elisha Barno successfully defended his title and became the first three-time consecutive Grandma’s Marathon champion by claiming the men’s championship in the 41st annual Grandma’s Marathon.  Barno finished the course with a time of 2:12:06.

Coming in second was first-time marathoner, Geoffrey Bundi, who finished in 2:13:32. Christopher Kipyego, 43, won the master’s men crossing the finish line in 2:15:14.

Hellen Jepkurgat claimed the women’s championship title. The 36-year-old cruised to victory in 2:32:09, ahead of Askale Merachi, 2:32:25.

Citizen runner Mary Akor, 40, finished 11th overall in 2:53:32, and earned the female masters title. Akor was the 2007, 2008 and 2009 women’s Grandma’s Marathon champion.

Barno earned $10,000 for the victory, plus a $1,500 bonus for finishing in under 2:13:00. Jepkurgat earned 10,000 for the victory, plus a $1,500 bonus for finishing in under 2:34.

Grandma’s Marathon 2017 Hall of Fame inductee and eight-time Grandma’s Marathon Champion, Amanda McGrory, outraced Susannah Scaroni by less than a second and won the women’s wheelchair division with a time of 1:40:42.

Aaron Pike beat Joshua George by less than a second won the Grandma’s Marathon men’s wheelchair division title with a time of 1:29:02.

There were 8,727 people registered for the 2017 Grandma’s Marathon and of those 6,689 started the ace in Two Harbors and 6,377 runners finished by 3 p.m.

In the 27th annual Garry Bjorklund Half Marathon, Evans Kurui won with a time of 1:03:05. Biruktayit Degefa, claimed the women’s title in 1:11:25.

Duluth Native, Kara Goucher, placed fifth in her return to racing with a time of 1:15:12.

There were 8,893 people registered for the Bjorklund Half Marathon with 7,446 starting the race and 7,332 finishing.

For complete results, log on to All results are unofficial.

The 42nd annual Grandma's Marathon is Saturday, June 16, 2018.