Kaanta and Nelson capture features at 43rd annual Silver 1000

By Jerry O'Brien For The Telegram PROCTOR -- Elk Mound's John Kaanta led all the way to capture the 40-lap Late Model feature at the 43rd annual Silver 1000 Thursday night in Proctor. Kaanta recorded the sweep for his third Silver 1000 victory an...

By Jerry O’Brien

For The Telegram


PROCTOR - Elk Mound’s John Kaanta led all the way to capture the 40-lap Late Model feature at the 43rd annual Silver 1000 Thursday night in Proctor.

Kaanta recorded the sweep for his third Silver 1000 victory and his first in 11 years.


Darrell Nelson, of Hermantown, added to his all-time Silver 1000 Modified win total capturing his sixth win since the Modifieds became part of the event 27 years ago in 1988.

FAST FACTS: Five former Silver 1000 late Model champions were on hand, all made the feature though Harry Hanson did so through a Promoter’s provisional.

*Four former Silver 1000 Modified champions were also on hand, all made the feature with three starting in the first two rows.

*Nelson is the only driver in the history of the Silver 1000 to win both the Modified and Late Model feature on the same night. Nelson did it in 2006.

*Nelson is the all-time leader in Modified Silver 1000 wins with six (1992, 1994, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2015). The retired Ron Jones is next with three wins and holds the record with three consecutive wins (1988-90)

*Kaanta’s win was his third, tying him with Rick Aukland, Rick Egersdorf, Jeff Provinzino and Brady Smith. Aukland, Egersdorf and Smith are retired.

*WISSOTA Modifieds joined the Late Models on the program 27 years ago in 1988.

*Dave Bjorge, of Austin Minn., won the first Silver 1000 in 1973.


*Five drivers in the 43 years of the Silver 1000 have won consecutive Late Model features - Jeff Hinkemeyer, St. Cloud (1981-82); Rick Aukland, Fargo, ND (1988-89); John Kaanta, Elk Mound (2003-04); Jeff Provinzino, Hibbing (2009-10) and Brady Smith (2011-12).

*Rick Popovich, of Duluth, was the first local driver to win the Silver 1000 (1987), it took 15 years for it to happen.


43rd Annual Silver 1000 Proctor Speedway

Thursday, Sept. 3

Proctor Speedway

WISSOTA Late Model (29 cars)

Feature (40 laps): John Kaanta, Elk Mound; Jake Redetzke, Eau Claire; Don Shaw, Ham Lake; Jeff Massingill, Keewatin; Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Terry Lillo, Duluth; Pat Doar, New Richmond; Harry Hanson, Eveleth; Aaron Lillo, Proctor; Travis Budiaslovich, Minneapolis; Tommy Waseleski Jr., Pengilly, Minn; Jay Kintner, Hibbing; Riley Matthews, Murillo, Ont.; Dave Esse, Cloquet; Gregg Hill, Eveleth; Cory Jorgenson, Hermantown.


DNF: John Toppozini, Thunder Bay; Tim McMann, Duluth; Chad Mahder, Eau Claire; Zach Wohlers, Kelly Lake; Kevin Carlson, Hermantown; Jeff Provinzino, Hibbing; Kyle Peterlin, Hermantown; Caley Emerson, Grand Rapids; Adam Hensel, Baldwin.

B Feature (15 laps) Waseleski Jr.; Mahder; Hill; Esse; Toppozini; Scott Herrick, Proctor; John Meeds, Spooner; Robbie Cooper South Range; Tim Lillo, Superior DNF: Hanson

Pole Dash (8 laps) Massingill; Kaanta; Budiaslovich; Nelson; Redetzke; Carlson; Shaw; Matthews; T. Lillo.

Heat 1: T. Lillo; Matthews; Emerson; Provinzino; McMann; Waseleski Jr.; Kintner; Toppozini; Herrick.

Heat 2: Redetzke; Nelson; Carlson; Wohlers; Doar; Jorgenson; Mahder; Hill; Cooper; T. Lillo.

Heat 3: Kaanta; Massingill; Shaw; Peterlin; A. Lillo; Hensel; Hanson; Esse; Meeds.


WISSOTA Modified (35 cars)

Feature (30 laps): Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Al Uotinen, Superior; Kelly Estey, Kelly Lake; Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Jeff Tardy, Hibbing; Matt Leer, Bruce; Jeff Broking, Grand Rapids; Rick Rivord, Superior; Jody Bellefeuille, Duluth; Greg Chesley, Duluth; Nick Musel, Duluth; Jeff Wood, Chisholm; Marcus Damjanovich, Hibbing; Paul Schultz, Grand Rapids; Bill Byholm, Glidden; Bob Broking, Grand Rapids; Rick Niemi, Eveleth; Ken Hron, Nashwauk.

DNF: Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Cody Wolkowski, Thunder Bay; Johnny Broking, Grand Rapids; Tim McMann, Duluth; Kevin Adams, Cameron; Rick Cannata, Hibbing.

B Feature (15 laps): Byholm; B. Broking; Chesley; Wolkowski; Neil Balduc, Bessemer; Keith Tourville, Webster; Nikki Wrazidlo, Duluth; Gavin Paull Ft. Francis, Ont.; Steve Hallquist, Eau Claire; Jeff Davis, Devlin, Ont.; Mikkonen; Matt DePiero, Ft. Francis. DNF: Mosteller. DNS: Mike Anderson, Colfax.

Pole Dash (8 laps) Nelson; Estey; Musel; Bellefeuille; Uotinen; Leer; Tardy; Cannata

Heat 1: Bellefeuille; Estey; Paull; Hron; Jeff Broking; B. Broking; Chesley; Hallquist; Schultz.

Heat 2: Tardy; Cannata; Johnny Broking; McMann; Eder; Wolkowski; Balduc; Mosteller; Gavel.

Heat 3: Uotinen; Nelson; VanHouse; Damjanovich; Adams; Byholm; Wrazidlo; Davis; Tourville.

Heat 4: Leer; Musel; Wood; Niemi; Rivord; Anderson; DePieero; Mikkonen.

What To Read Next
Three-day Ski de She camp and clinic in Cable will include Olympic champion Kikkan Randall.
Local bowling scores.
Both teams are 8-8 and have a chance at grabbing a playoff berth on Sunday Night Football.
Green Bay's demolition of the Vikings puts the Packers in control of their own destiny in Week 18.