Weather Forecast


Pond Hockey Classic this weekend on Barker’s Island

The 15th annual Great Lakes Pond Hockey Classic kicks off Friday, Jan. 25, and runs through Sunday, Jan. 27, on Barker’s Island.

Forty-six teams are entered in this year’s event, including 20 in the Open Division and six in the Rink Rat Division. There are also 20 mite teams in action from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday.

The event officially opens at 4 p.m. Friday with team registrations. The opening ceremonies will take place at 5:45 p.m., followed by first-round games at 6 p.m.

The third annual Guns & Hoses game between the Superior Police Department and Superior Fire Department will take place at 7 p.m., followed by a second round of games from 8-9 p.m.

Back to defend their Open Division title is Anchor Bar/Belknap Lounge, which needed a last-minute goal by Dane Morin to defeat Freaky Fast 13-12 in last year’s championship game.

Joining Morin on the winning team, which also won the title in 2016, were Kellen McCoshen, Pat Dalbec, Tim Smith, David Dalbec and Chris Sislo.

Freaky Fast (Grant Hanson, Matt Hinaus and Terry, Matt, Troy and Mark Shold) also returns this year as does six-time champion Bud Light/Dugout Lounge, which lost to Freaky Fast in last year’s quarterfinals after winning the title in 2017 and five straight titles from 2011 to 2015.

Bud Light’s roster in 2017 included Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley, Alex Doig, Rheese Carlson and Ross Carlson.

FCA Hockey (Bob Horyza, Nate Gazelka, Jaden Baker, Matt Sislo, Josh Huray and Daniel Esslesevom) won last year’s Rink Rat Division.

POND FACTS: The Superior police defeated the Superior firemen 15-13 in last year’s Guns-n-Hoses game. … Championship and consolation round play begins at 10:30 a.m. Sunday. The Rink Rat championship and Open Division consolation championship games are at 1 p.m. and the Open Division title game is at 1:30 p.m.

Great Lakes Ice Festival

This will be the third year the pond hockey tournament is part of the Great Lakes Ice Festival.

This year’s event includes some new additions, from a mobile sauna and igloo-building contest to a bonspiel and “Clue Hunt,” as well as old favorites like s’mores around the bonfire and live music.

The will also be a 250-foot snow slide, free ice skating, kids activities, ice carving demonstrations, hay bale shuttles and a craft fair Saturday at Barker’s Island Inn and Convention Center.

Two racing events are also planned Saturday.

The Midwest Ice Racing Association event will take place near the Whaleback Meteor, while the Lake Superior Ice Racing Association event will take place on Allouez Bay, which can be accessed at 44th Avenue East.

Also new this year will be a “Clue Hunt.” Each of the 12 sculptures will be associated with a clue where a correct answer will get the hunter an entry for a chance to win $500 in BID Bucks.

A fireworks display will wrap up Saturday’s events at approximately 7:30 p.m.

The Superior Business Improvement District will provide trolley service from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Saturday. The trolley will make a constant loop between the festival, Vintage Italian Pizza, 1201 Tower Ave., and Belknap Plaza, 130 Belknap St.

15th annual Great Lake Pond Hockey Classic

Open Division


Jagr Bombs, Freaky Fast, PBR, Superior Fuel Company, J3 Insurance

Pool B

Great Lakes Hockey, Google Bandits, Gronk's Bar & Grill, Bud Light/Dugout Lounge, Champions Lounge

Pool C

Powerhouse Bar, Upper Lakes Foods/Belknap Plumbing, Minnesota Power/North Shore Defenders, Here for Beer, Bachand Realty

Pool D

Anchor Bar/Belknap Lounge, Shamrock Bar & Pizza, Gopher Rejects, Minivans, Game Misconducts

Rink Rat Division

Pool E

What a Wookie, Puck Heads, Duluth Warriors Black, Central Sheet Metal.

Pool F

KQ Pond Scum Princesses, Hip and Ridge, Lakes Gas Co., Duluth Warriors White.

Great Lakes Pond Hockey Classic

Past Winners

Open Division

2018 — Anchor Bar/Belknap Lounge (Kellen McCoshen, Pat Dalbec, Dane Morin, Tim Smith, Chris Sislo, David Dalbec).

2017 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley, Alex Doig, Rheese Carlson, Ross Carlson)

2016 — Anchor Bar/Belknap Lounge (Chris Bishop, Pat Dalbec, Kellen McCoshen, Dane Morin, Tom Paine, Tim Smith)

2015 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Dustin Cosgrove, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley, Derek Miller, Kyle Nosan)

2014 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Dustin Cosgrove, Eric Dahlberg, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley, Kyle Nosan)

2013 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley)

2012 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley)

2011 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Eric Bausano, Dustin LaValley, Eric Dahlberg)

2010 — Dodgie’s/Need a Fifth (Chad Matushak, Tim Nelson, Clayton Weiby, Kelly Stephens, Chris Sislo)

2009 — Heavy Metal Hockey (Steve Rodberg, Ryan Vieau, Rheese Carlson, Ben Johnson, Tony Scherber)

2008 — Lucky’s/Shenannigan’s (Ryan O’Neill, Dan Krenn, Dave Coleman, Andy Klapperick)

2007 — Armadillos (Jeremy Enders, Jamie Dowson, Ryan Johnson, Ryan Sustawenko)

2006 — Gopher Rejects (Justin Johnson, Chris Green, Brian Delwiche, Matt Hupila)

2005 — Need a Fifth (Tim Nelson, Chad Matushak, Jay Matushak, Kelly Stephens)

Senior Division

2013 — Too Old & Cold (Ryan Schold, Terry Schold, Travis Schold, Gary Kucharyski, Ken Mertz)

2010 — Too Old & Cold (Terry Schold, Travis Schold, Gary Kucharyski, Pete Hanson)

2007 — MHL Fab Four (Rick Eisenmann, Ken Mertz, Gary Kucharyski, Steve Sorenson, Mike Susens)

2009 — Rusty Five (Gary Gilbertson, Joel Heikes, Dane Youngblom, Russ Williams, Mike Hinaus)

2008 — Too Old & Cold (Terry Schold, Travis Schold, Greg Kaake, Pete Hanson)

Women’s Division

2009 — Don Leigh’s Ladies (Jill Thompson, Terri Fair, Stephanie Keup, Erica VanDamme, DeeDee Kolanczyk)

Big Pond Bonspiel

2015 — A Event: Seitz (Superior); B Event: King (La Crosse); C Event: Button Up (Duluth)