Weather Forecast


Spartans fall to Wausau West in title game

The Superior High School boys hockey team had its 11-game winning streak stopped with a 6-2 loss to Wausau West in the Showdown in Titletown championship game Saturday, Dec. 29, at Cornerstone Arena in Ashwaubenon.

The Spartans fell to 11-2 on the season with both losses coming to the Warriors. Superior opened the season with a 4-3 loss to Wausau West in the Eau Claire Memorial tournament.

Wausau West, which won its second straight Showdown in Titletown championship, is now 9-2-1 on the season.

With the score tied 1-1, the Warriors scored a pair of goals within a span of 44 seconds to take 3-1 lead into the first intermission.

Lucas Langlois' unassisted goal from behind the net deflected off a player and past Spartan goaltender Dayton Podvin at 15:42. Marc Sippel then made it 3-1 with 34 seconds left in the second period with assists from Sam Techel and Conner Healy.

Carson Marquardt gave West a 1-0 lead 3:37 into the game and Superior tied it up on Grant Sorensen’s unassisted goal at 6:43.

Cade Lemmer made it a 4-1 game 2:20 of the second period, but the Spartans got that goal back when Taylor Burger scored shorthanded after a give-and-go play with Trevor Dalbec.

West took another three-goal lead when Healy scored on a rebound after a shot by Lemmer.

The Warriors had a chance to added to their lead, but the Spartans killed off a two-minute 5-on-3 power play for Wausau West.

Marquardt scored the only goal of the third period.

Dayton Podvin and Jamin Durfee played in goal for Superior and Adam Prokop was between the pipes for West. Saves were unavailable.

Superior opened the tournament with a 5-4 win over Loyola (Ill.) Academy on Thursday, Dec. 27.

The Spartans then scored two third-period goals in a 4-2 win over Madison Edgewood in Friday’s semifinal game.

The Spartans plays Duluth Marshall at 7:30 p.m. Thursday at Mars Lakeview Arena.

Wausau West 3-2-1—6

Superior 1-1-0—2

First Period —1. WW, Carson Marquardt (Jake Bailey, Cole Hannes), 3:37. 2. SHS, Grant Sorensen, 6:43. 3. WW, Lucas Langlois, 15:42. 4. Marc Sippel (Sam Techel, Conner Healy), 16:26.

Second period — 5. WW, Cade Lemmer (Healy, Sam Techel), 2:20. 6. SHS, Taylor Burger (Trevor Dalbec), 5:32 (sh). 7. WW, Healy (Lemmer, Sippel), 7:35.

Third period — 8. WW, Marquardt, 5:11.

Saves —Adam Prokop, WW, n/a. Dayton Podvin and Jamin Durfee, SHS, n/a.