University of Wisconsin-Superior’s Svenja Ruehl and Noah Potratz earned individual U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic awards, while the Yellowjacket women's team collected its 11th-straight All-Academic Team award for its outstanding performance in the classroom and on the field.

To be named a USTFCCCA All-Academic Team and be in contention for the Scholar Team of the Year honor, a team must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0. The Yellowjacket women increased their GPA once again in 2017-18, posting a cumulative 3.24.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Ruehl, from Kirchvers, Germany, finished her career as one of the top jumpers in UWS history, marking personal bests like 11.65 meters in the triple jump, 1.45 meters in the high jump and 5.56 meters in the long jump.

Potratz, from Ripon, Wis., set the record in the javelin throw with 59.96 meters, a throw that led him to the NCAA DIII National Championships. At nationals, Potratz threw 57.86 meters to place 14th overall.


WIAC honors

Thirty-seven UWS hockey players were named Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference All-Academic Award winners and Scholastic Honor Roll recipients for the 2017-18 academic year.

To be honored athletes had to achieve a 3.0 GPA or better.


UWS honorees

Men -- Brandon Barillaro, Bruno Birzitis, Liam Blais, Ryan Carlson, Jason Cohan, Lukas Denk, Andrew Durham, Ian Ecklund, Connor Hamonic, Nicholas Klishko, Yves Leemann, Daniel Litchke, Alec MacKenzie, Pavel Mikhasenok, Kyle Miller, Dylan Nelson, Tanner Skaja, Cole Skinner, Paer Oscar Svensson, Austin Thompson, Evgeny Yakovlev.

Women -- Agnese Apsite, Sky Brown, Kelly Cockerill, Magdalena Cragg, Jenna Curtis, Megan Dulong, Sarah Fjeran, Mikayla Goodin, Emily Heid, Amber Heidenreich, Kaleigh Martinson, Saige Rempel Patrick, Amanda Sergent, Mandy Tomlinson, Alexa Weiss, Kaylee Wood.

NOTE: Also honored was Superior’s Samantha Young, who plays hockey at UW-River Falls.