Weather Forecast


Young, Pearson named all-state in hockey

Superior High School’s Addie Young, left, and Northwestern High Schookl’s Sarah Pearson were named all-state honorable mention by the Wisconsin Girls Hockey Coaches Association. Pearson played for the Hayward Co-op team. (Submitted Photo)

Addie Young and Sarah Pearson were among eight forwards named all-state honorable mention by the Wisconsin Girls Hockey Coaches Association.

Young, a senior at Superior High School and the daughter of Greg and Jill Young, was also a finalist for WGHCA’s Ms. Hockey 2018.

Young, who scored 39 points this season for the Spartans with 24 goals and 15 assists, will attend UW-Eau Claire in the fall and play hockey for the Blugolds.

Pearson, a senior at Northwestern High School, is the daughter of Jeff and Kim Pearson. She had 14 goals and seven assists this season for the six-school Hayward Co-op girls hockey team.

Pearson will attend Concordia University Wisconsin this fall and play hockey for the Falcons.

Both girls recently completed tryouts for the third-annual Wisconsin high school girls’ hockey junior-senior festival. They will be teammates for Section 1 in the tournament to be held March 24-25 in Chippewa Falls.

WGHCA All-State Girls Hockey Team

First Team

Forwards -- Abigail Stow, ECA Stars; Ava Kison, ECA Stars; Hadley Malcolmson, Brookfield Glacier; Maggy Henschler, Rock County Fury; Markie Ash, Wis Valley Union; Alyssa Heim, Warbirds/Beaver Dam.

Defensemen -- Anna Wilgren, Hudson; Charlotte Akervik, ECA Stars; Mia Dunning, Bay Area; Liisa Kramer, Appleton United.

Goalies -- Cassie Schultz, Hudson; McKaylie Buescher, Rock County Fury.

Second Team

Forwards -- Kamryn Jacobs, St. Croix Valley; Sydney Hendricks, Hudson; Maddy Jablonski, Fox Cities Stars; Lauryn Hull, Fox Cities Stars; Lexie Nelson, Hudson; Khloe Spors, Black River Falls.

Defensemen -- Margo Thousand, Cap City; Molly Schuett, Hudson; Dani Heitsman, Rock County Fury; Brooklynn Arbs, ECA Stars.

Goalies -- Pistol Cowden, Wis Valley Union; Josie Mathison, Black River Falls.

Honorable Mention

Forwards -- Jade Williams, Western WI Stars; Megan McPike, University School; Sarah Pearson, Hayward; Kendra Robinson, Wis Valley Union; Addie Young, Superior; Anna Albrightson, St. Croix Valley; Baileigh Johnson, Black River Falls; Mary Kremer, Arrowhead.

Defensemen -- Erin Gruber, Central Wisconsin; Avrey Simonson, Wis Valley Union; Drew Deanovich, Warbirds/Beaver Dam; Tori Nelson, Fox Cities Stars; Hannah Gold, University School; Kristin Deffner, Central Wisconsin; Katy Anderson, St. Croix Valley.

Goalies -- Emily Nettesheim, Arrowhead; Ivy Shonka, Viroqua.