Weather Forecast


SPARTAN ROUND-UP: Young, Ion named all-conference; boys basketball team in action tonight

Two members of the Superior High School girls hockey team were named to the Lake Superior Conference all-conference team.

Senior Addie Young was a first-team selection, while junior Rose Ion was named honorable mention.

Lake Superior Conference

All-Conference Girls Hockey Team

First Team — Taylor Nelson, 10, Cloquet; Addie Young, 12, Superior; Kiana Bender, 10, Cloquet; Maren Friday, 9, Marshall School; Olyvia Opsahl, 12, Proctor/Hermantown; Carissa Mudrak, 10, Marshall School.

Second Team — Dehli Heikes, Proctor/Hermantown; Emily Lemker, 11, Marshall School; Lauren Donnellan, Ashland; Kennedy Halverson, 12, Proctor/Hermantown; Ryan Gray, 12, Proctor/Hermantown.

Honorable Mention — Cassie McClure, 11, Duluth; Olivia Boettcher, 11, Marshall School; Lily Aamodt, 11, Marshall School; Rose Ion, 11, Superior; Rikki Saletri, 11, Ashland; Emma Quimby, 10, Ashland.

Boys basketball

The No. 13 Spartans (8-14) open the WIAA Division 1 playoffs at No. 4 Eau Claire North Huskies at 7 p.m. today.

ECN (19-3) defeated the Spartans 70-50 in Superior on Jan. 23.

The Spartans’ top three scorers are all juniors — Xavier Patterson (14.4 ppg), Mason Ackley (13.9) and Ben Rhodes (11.1).

The winner will play either No. 5 Appleton West or No. 12 Hudson at 7 p.m. Saturday.