Weather Forecast


Interstate 35 Southbound reopened in Duluth

Summerfield named BRC co-defensive player of the year

Superior High School's Chase Summerfield (38) takes down a Hudson runner during their game in September at the NBC Spartan Sports Complex. (Jed Carlson /

Nine members of the Superior High School football team were named to Big Rivers Conference All-Conference teams for the 2018 season.

Leading the way was Spartan senior Chase Summerfield, who was named the co-Defensive Player of the Year along with Chippewa Falls senior Rico Deleon.

Summerfield, also a first-team pick on the defensive line, led the Spartans in tackles (69), tackles for loss (8) and sacks (3).

“Chase has always been a force on defense as a three-year starter for us,” SHS coach Bob DeMeyer said. “This past offseason he amped his training up considerably and it translated to the field. Our opposing coaches would comment before and after each game on how disruptive he was. Teams schemed to double team him, read him, trap him, run away from him and it didn't matter, he made plays regardless.

“We know his value to our team and I'm so happy for his sake that the BRC coaches see it too. He's earned this recognition and we couldn't be more proud of him.”

Joining Summerfield on the first team as a linebacker was SHS senior Trevor Dalbec.

Junior Jarrett Gronski was named a second-team specialist as well as an honorable mention quarterback.

Other Spartans named honorable mention were offensive linemen Lars Root, Nathan Peterson and Luke Persons; and defensive linemen Gabriel Sexton, Sam Gidley and Brady Herbst.

Big Rivers Conference

2018 All-Conference Football Team

Offensive Players of the Year – Keyser Helterbrand, 12, Hudson; and Logan Graetz, 12, River Falls.

Defensive Players of the Year – Chase Summerfield, 12, Superior; and Rico Deleon, 12, Chippewa Falls.

Coach of the Year – David Crail, River Falls.

First-Team Offense

OL – Nate Hayes, 12, Chippewa Falls; Sam Thompson, 12, Menomonie; Victor Jimenez, 12, Rice Lake; Zac Paulson, 12, River Falls.

QB – Keyser Helterbrand, 12, Hudson; Logan Graetz, 12, River Falls.

RB – DeAirus Clerveaux, 12, Rice Lake; Seth Kohel, 11, River Falls; Matt Pomietlo, 12, Chippewa Falls.

WR – Sam Zbornik, 12, Menomonie; Jared Creen, 12, River Falls.

TE – Nate Hau, 12, ECM.

First-Team Defense

DL – Chase Summerfield, 12, SHS; Rico Deleon, 12, Chippewa Falls; Jimenez, 12, Rice Lake; Wyatt Porter, 12, River Falls.

LB – Sam Thompson, 12, Menomonie; Chance Kamrowski, 12, River Falls; Trevor Dalbec, 12, SHS; Cody Cicha, 12, Hudson.

DB – Peyton Buckley, 12, Rice Lake; Adam Feyereisen, 12, River Falls; Jacob Daulton, 12, Hudson; Davis Barthan, 11, Menomonie.

First-Team Specialist

Specialist – Logan Sorenson, 12, Menomonie.

P – Taylor Tirrell, 12, River Falls.

K – Luke Nelson, 12, RF.

Second-Team Offense

OL – Orion Caneff, 12, Chippewa Falls; Nick Oberding, 11, ECM; Dane Demuth, 12, Hudson; Quin Farr, 11, Hudson; Alex Klecker, 12, River Falls.

RB – Kade Schultz, 12, Menomonie; Cole Danielson, 12, Hudson; Marquez Clerveaux, 12, Rice Lake; Trevor Bohland, 11, Chippewa Falls.

WR – Ben Karls, 12, Hudson; Dylan Boecker, 11, Menomonie.

TE – Joe Stoffel, 11, River Falls.

Second-Team Defense

DL – Jonah Becken, 12, Hudson; Cade McDonald, 11, Hudson; Carter Luzinski, 11, Menomonie; Tony Lai, 12, Rice Lake.

LB – Thomas Poplwaski, 11, Menomonie; Dalton Drost, 12, Rice Lake; Dane Weiland, 12, Chippewa Falls; Torin Phillips, 11, Hudson.

DB – Peter Noreen, 11, River Falls; Jakes Asembo, 12, Hudson; Josh Cleveland, 12, River Falls; Braeden Verbsky, 12, Rice Lake.

Second-Team Specialists

Specialist – Jarrett Gronski, 11, SHS; JD Czech, 12, Chippewa Falls.

Kicker – Poplwaski, 11, Menomonie.

Superior Spartans - Honorable Mention

OL – Lars Root, Nathan Peterson, Luke Persons.

DL – Gabriel Sexton, Sam Gidley, Brady Herbst.

QB – Jarrett Gronski.