Weather Forecast


Two more awards for Gustafson

University of Iowa junior Megan Gustafson has picked up two more postseason awards.

The junior from Port Wing has been named a second team All-American by the Associated Press and by the United States Basketball Writer’s Association.

Gustafson is the sixth AP All-American in program history and the first since Sam Logic earned third-team accolades in 2015. She is the first Hawkeye ever to be named to the AP first or second team. Gustafson received seven first place votes and 74 total points.

Gustafson is also the fourth Hawkeye in program history to earn USBWA All-America honors and the first since Logic earned the distinction in 2015. Michelle Edwards (1988) and Necole Tunsil (1994) were also USBWA All-Americans.

The former South Shore Cardinal averaged 25.7 points, 12.8 rebounds, and shot 67.1 percent from the field in 32 contests. The 2018 Big Ten Player of the Year leads the nation in points per game (25.7), field goal percentage (67.1), and field goals made (320). She also ranks second in double-doubles (28), third in total points (823), fourth in defensive rebounds per game (9), and fifth in total rebounds (411) and rebounds per game (12.8).

Gustafson has also earned All-America honors from Sports Illustrated (first team), College Sports Madness (second team), USA Today (second team), and ESPNW (third team).

NOTE: Iowa head coach Lisa Bluder has been named a United States Marine Corps/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year.

It is the third regional coach of the year honor of Bluder’s Iowa career (2001 and 2008).

2018 Women’s AP All-American Team

First Team

A’ja Wilson, Sr., South Carolina; Katie Lou Samuelson, Jr., UConn; Sabrina Ionescu, So., Oregon; Asia Durr, Jr., Louisville; Victoria Vivians, Sr., Mississippi State.

Second Team

Kalani Brown, Jr., Baylor; Kelsey Mitchell, Sr., Ohio State; Gabby Williams, Sr., UConn; Megan Gustafson, Jr., Iowa; Arike Ogunbowale, Jr., Notre Dame.

Third Team

Napheesa Collier, Jr., UConn; Teaira McCowan, Jr., Mississippi State; Jordin Canada, Sr., UCLA; Lexie Brown, Sr., Duke; Myisha Hines-Allen, Sr., Louisville.

Honorable Mention

Ariel Atkins, Texas; Kenisha Bell, Minnesota; Tashia Brown, Western Kentucky; Natalie Butler, George Mason; Bridget Carleton, Iowa State; Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M; Lauren Cox, Baylor; Sophie Cunningham, Missouri; Katelynn Flaherty, Michigan; Loryn Goodwin, Oklahoma State; Marie Gulich, Oregon State; Ruthy Hebard, Oregon; Kaylee Jensen, Oklahoma State; Maria Jespersen, South Florida; Brooke McCarty, Texas; Brittany McPhee, Stanford; Tinara Moore, Central Michigan; Teana Muldrow, West Virginia; Kia Nurse, UConn; Jaime Nared, Tennessee; Shakayla Thomas, Florida State; Morgan William, Mississippi State; Imani Wright, Florida State.

USBWA All-America Team

First Team

Asia Durr, Jr., Louisville; Sabrina Ionescu, So., Oregon; Kelsey Mitchell, Sr., Ohio State; Katie Lou Samelson, Jr., UConn; A’ja Wilson, Sr., South Carolina.

Second Team

Kalani Brown, Jr., Baylor; Jordin Canada, Sr., UCLA; Megan Gustafson, Jr., Iowa; Arike Ogunbowale, Jr., Notre Dame; Victoria Vivians, Sr., Mississippi State; Gabby Williams, Sr., UConn.