Following the cancellation of collegiate spring sports due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Upper Midwest Athletic Conference launched the "2020 Spring Salute" to honor all spring conference programs, coaches and senior student-athletes during the remainder of the 2019-20 academic year.

The recent honorees included 29 senior athletes from the University of Wisconsin-Superior.

"I’m incredibly proud of this year’s seniors,” UWS Athletic Director and head softball coach Nick Bursik said. “Their passion and joy for the game is contagious. They always made coming together as a team fun and exciting. Their resilience and drive have had a profound and lasting impact on our program. I look forward to watching them embark into their futures and accomplish anything they set out to.”

Of those athletes, 11 were members of the Yellowjacket baseball team.

"This class will always be very special,” UWS baseball coach Frank Pufall said. “The growth in the UWS baseball program during their time here is a testament to the high quality young men in this group. Just as they have powerfully impacted this program in a positive way, they will continue to do so wherever they find themselves in the future.”

Newsletter signup for email alerts

The list of senior Yellowjackets also includes five softball players, six tennis players and seven members of the outdoor track and field team.

“We want to thank this group of seniors for all they’ve done,” UWS tennis coach CeeJay Schaffner said. “While it’s extremely unfortunate to see their college career end this way, we’re proud of them for handling it as well as they have. They’ve exceeded our expectations on and off the court, and they’ve overcome more than most. We can’t wait to see these young men and women be successful in life.”

UW-Superior 2020 Senior Athletes


Cory Albertson, Stillwater, Minnesota; Zach Bennett, Corona, California; Elliot Danhoff, Gladstone, Michigan; Boone Elkins, Riverside, California; Cameron Lee, Durban, South Africa; Harrison Leet, Portage, Wisconsin; Tommy Lentz, Andover, Minnesota; Bryce Meverden, Birnamwood, Wisconsin; Alec Rabin, Deerfield, Illinois; Mike Rodriguez, Chicago; Brandon Rolf, Stillwater, Minnesota.


Emily Carpenter, St. Peter, Minnesota; Briana McGrath, Two Harbors; Bailey Kinnunen, Grand Rapids, Minnesota; Amanda Kishish, St. Francis, Minnesota; Ashley Taipale, Duluth.

Men's Tennis

Grady Hauswirth, Farmington, Minnesota; Harry Simpson, Derby, England; Jordan Wetterlind, Twig, Minnesota.

Women's Tennis

Maura Halverson, Brainerd, Minnesota; Kitana Honkola, Eveleth, Minnesota; Alison Tollas, Ashland.

Men's Indoor Track and Field

CJ Pillath, Coleman, Wisconsin; Eddie Carlson, South St. Paul; Andre Couture, Culver, Minnesota; Henry Seeb, Stillwater, Minnesota.

Women's Outdoor Track and Field

Mathea Brink, Rochester, Minnesota; Haruka Hamanaka, Izumisano, Japan; Hannah Kivela, Hibbing.