Northwestern High School senior Calen Kirkpatrick made school history by advancing to his fourth WIAA Division 2 State Wrestling Tournament.

Kirkpatrick, along with teammate Morgan Berggren, finished in second place at Saturday’s sectional meet in Amery. Berggren will be making his first trip to state.

Kirkpatrick, who is 32-6 this season at 138 pounds, advanced to state at 132 pounds last year, 120 pounds as a sophomore and 106 as a freshman.

Kirkpatrick will face Westby’s Ryan Knight (36-12) in the opening round of the state tournament in the 7:15 p.m. session on Thursday at the Kohl Center in Madison.

The winner will face Kewaskum’s Eric Bauer (37-3) in the 11:15 a.m. session Friday. The loser will be eliminated.

Berggren opens against Oconto Falls’ Dan Ausloos (33-3), also in the 7:15 p.m. session Thursday. The winner advances to face Branden Lange (41-5) of Evansville/Albany Friday morning.

Kirkpatrick pinned Logan Ruesch of Abbotsford/Colby in 53 seconds; lost a major decision to Ellsworth’s Sam Stuhl; pinned Frank Holter of St. Croix Central in 52 seconds; pinned Medford’s Andy Poetzl in 59 second; and won by forfeit over Tim Coyne (Hayward/Northwood).

Berggren’s path to state included a pin of Henry Theisen (Regis/Altoona); a 5-0 win over Sean Hassamer (Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee); getting pinned by Logan Zschernitz (Spencer/Columbus Catholic) in the first-place match; and a win by injury default in the second-place match over Jacob Konvicka of Chetek-Weyerhaeuser/Prairie Farm.

As a team, Northwestern finished in eighth place with 48 points. Ellsworth won the team title with 140 points.

TIGER TALES: Zac Martinson made three trips to state for the Tigers, qualifying in 2004, 2005 and 2006. He finished  second at 135 pounds in 2006. … Kirkpatrick is the only wrestler in NHS history who advanced to state in his freshman year.


WIAA D2 Wrestling Sectional

Saturday at Amery

1 Ellsworth, 140; 2. Spencer/Columbus Catholic, 101.5; 3. Medford, 66; 4. Amery, 60; 5. Ashland, 54; 6. Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee, 52.5; 7. Baldwin-Woodville, 52; 8. Northwestern, 48; 9. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal, 43; 10. Barron, 38; 11. Somerset, 33; 12. Chetek-Weyerhaeuser/Prairie Farm, 31; 12. Spooner/Webster, 31; 14. Prescott, 30; 15. St. Croix Central, 20.5; 16. Hayward/Northwood, 15; 17. Bloomer/Colfax, 11; 18. Osceola, 9; 19. Abbotsford/Colby, 5; 19. Regis/Altoona, 5; 21. Rice Lake, 2; 22. Luck/Frederic/Grantsburg/Siren, 0; 22. Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek, 0.

Northwestern’s Results

113 -- Braden Trautt (24-11), NDP: lost major decision to Ethan Tulip (Prescott), 12-0.

120 -- Tjay Ziebarth (17-14), DNP: lost to Leo Rodriguez (Spencer/Columbus Catholic), 14-10.

132 -- Brody Burke (13-14), DNP: pinned by Mitchel Harmon (Bloomer/Colfax), 1:48.

138 -- Calen Kirkpatrick (32-6), second place with 21 points: pinned Logan Ruesch (Abbotsford/Colby), 0:53; lost major decision to Sam Stuhl (Ellsworth), 13-1; pinned Frank Holter (St. Croix Central), 0:52; pinned Andy Poetzl (Medford), 0:59; won by forfeit over Tim Coyne (Hayward/Northwood).

145 -- Zach Pooler (24-7), DNP with two points: def. Aaron Schmidt (Osceola), 6-1; lost major decision to Jared Lansing (Ellsworth), 9-0; lost to Dylan Nielsen (Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal), 5-1.

170 -- Donny Pooler (21-5), fourth place with seven points: def. Sam Peters (C-Weyerhaeuser/PF), 4-2; lost in OT to Carson Hildebrandt (Spencer/Columbus Catholic), 5-3; def. Blaine Guthrie (B-W), 7-6; lost to Garrett Hecht (Somerset), 8-3.

182 -- Andrew Hanson (25-10), NDP: pinned by Joe Schulte (Prescott), 3:16.

285 -- Morgan Berggren (28-6), second place with 18 points: pinned Henry Theisen (Regis/Altoona), 1:34; def. Sean Hassamer (Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee), 5-0; pinned by Logan Zschernitz (Spencer/Columbus Catholic) in first-place match in 0:44; won by injury default over Jacob Konvicka (C-W/PF) in second-place match.