Weather Forecast


Spartan Peewees skate to strong finish

Members of the Superior Peewee (B) Blue hockey team are: goalie Trevor Soderlund (front); Standing (L to R): Keegan Tribey, coach Rob Soderlund, Finnegan Prell, Max Reed, Riley Lancour, Keyten DeGraef, Carter Leif, Brodie Raygor, Braedyn Schramm, Ayden Downs, coach George Hansen, Tristan Brennan and coach Brian Raygor; and top row: Gordon Schulties, Robert Powell and George (Puddy) Hansen. (Submitted Photo)

Superior Telegram

Superior’s Peewee (B) Blue hockey team finished its season in fine fashion as champions of the Battle by the Bay Peewee Tournament at the Bay Area Civic Center in Ashland.

Superior made a statement in its first game with a 15-2 win over Spooner.  Max Reed scored four goals in the contest, while Tristan Brennan added a hat trick. Riley Lancour found the net twice and managed an assist in the effort.

Superior faced Cloquet later in the day in a much tighter contest. Brennan stayed hot on offense with two goals, and Robert Powell pitched in two of his own while contributing an assist. Lancour and Reed each had two assists and Superior managed a 7-5 win over Cloquet.

Superior wrapped up its championship weekend with a 7-6 overtime win over the host Ashland Oredockers in the title game.

Reed put the finishing touches on his high-scoring weekend with four goals to help Superior to a 6-5 lead with less than two minutes remaining in regulation.

However, with two Spartans in the penalty box the Oredockers managed to slide the game-tying goal in with 90 seconds left to force overtime.

It only took the Spartans 21 seconds in overtime to decide a winner when Lancour put a pass on the stick of Carter Leif, who flicked the game winner into the back of net.

“That game was a nail-biter from the second the puck dropped, and I don’t think I’ve seen a happier bunch of kids than when Riley and Carter got us out of that overtime with a win,” Superior head coach Brian Raygor said. “Our kids won their first tournament of the year in Walker (Minn.) and we really put it together again in Ashland — what a way to wrap things up for these guys.”

Trevor Soderlund tended the Spartan net throughout the tournament and saved 37 shots on the weekend.

Remaining members of the team include Keegan Tribey, Finnegan Prell, Keyten DeGraef, Brodie Raygor, Braedyn Schramm, Ayden Downs, Gordon Schulties and George Hansen. The team is coached by Raygor, Rob Soderlund and George Hansen.