Weather Forecast


Superior elects new mayor, city councilors

Jim Paine poses with his wife Katie outside of the Cedar Lounge in Superior on Tuesday evening after learning he was elected to be the new mayor of Superior. Jed Carlson /

Superior has a new mayor and two new city councilors following Tuesday’s election.

Douglas County Board vice chairman, Jim Paine, won his bid over City Councilor Brent Fennessey with 58 percent of the vote.

While Paine won’t take office for two weeks, he said he plans to hit the ground running by meeting local leaders and city department heads so he can get started on day one.

In addition to the mayor’s race, three city council seats were contested. Newcomers Jenny Van Sickle in the 2nd District defeated challenger Bryce Harp with 59 percent of the vote. Van Sickle replaces Councilor Tom Fennessey who decided not to run for re-election.

Craig Sutherland will replace four-term City Councilor Mike Herrick after taking 62 percent of the vote in the 8th District.

Only incumbent Councilor Graham Garfield held onto his seat in the 6th District by carrying one more vote than his challenger, businessman Tylor Elm.

Councilors Jack Sweeney in the 4th District and Esther Dalbec in the 10th ran unopposed Tuesday.

On the Superior School Board, two new members will be joining. Laura Gapske and Mary Smith-Johnson, newcomers to the board, were the top two vote-getters in the four-way race for two seats, defeating incumbents Mary Klun and Steven Stupak.