Candidates line up for Wisconsin fall elections

The primary election on Aug. 9 will shape ballots in November.

We are part of The Trust Project.

SUPERIOR — Voters will head to the polls in August to decide several partisan primaries leading up to the November election in Douglas County.

Their choices will determine the ticket in the Nov. 8 general election for two open seats in the Wisconsin Assembly and one open seat in the state Senate.

Closer to home, voters will choose from three Democratic candidates to determine who will serve as the next sheriff in Douglas County. Sheriff’s detective Matt Izzard, deputy Brian Witt and county board chairman Mark Liebaert are running for the Democratic nomination. The winner of the Aug. 9 primary moves on to the Nov. 8 election. No Republican candidates filed nomination paperwork to run for the office.

In state races, candidates Chanz Green of Grand View and John Schey of Glidden are vying for the Republican nomination for the 74th District Assembly seat. The winner will challenge Democratic candidate John Adams of Washburn for the open seat currently held by Rep. Beth Meyers, D-Bayfield, who is not seeking reelection.

In the 73rd District, Rep. Nick Milroy, D-South Range, is stepping down at the end of the term. Candidates Angie Sapik of Lake Nebagamon and Scott Luostari of Lakeside are in the running for the Republican nomination to face Democratic candidate Laura Gapske of Superior on Nov. 8.


Neither candidate running for the Wisconsin Senate in the 25th District is facing a primary challenge. Democratic candidate Kelly Westlund of Ashland and Republican candidate Romaine Quinn of Cameron are vying for the seat currently held by state Sen. Janet Bewley, D-Mason.

Republican nominees elected by voters Tuesday will face uncontested Democratic challengers Nov. 8.

In Wisconsin’s 7th Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Tom Tiffany, R-Minocqua, is facing a challenge in the primary from David Kunelius II of Arbor Vitae. The winner of the Aug. 9 primary will face Richard Ausman of Lac du Flambeau, the Democratic candidate, Nov. 8.

In the race for the U.S. Senate, U.S. Sen. Ron Johnson, R-Oshkosh, is facing a challenge from fellow Republican David Schroeder of Milwaukee in the primary. Democratic candidates in the running for the U.S. Senate seat include Steven Olikara, Mandela Barnes, Darrell Williams Alex Lasry and Peter Peckarsky of Milwaukee; Sarah Godlewski of Madison; Tom Nelson of Appleton; and Kou C. Lee of Hobart. The winners from each party will face off in November.

Five Republicans are on the Aug. 9 ballot to challenge Democratic Gov. Tony Evers in the fall. Timothy Ramthum of Campbellsport, Tim Michels of Hartland, Adam Fischer of Oak Creek, Kevin Nicholson of Pewaukee and Rebecca Kleefisch of Sullivan are seeking the Republican nomination Aug. 9 for a three-way race for governor on Nov. 8. Joan Ellis Beglinger of Cross Plains is running as an Independent.

Patrick Testin of Stevens Point; Jonathan Wichmann of Franklin; David King and Cindy Werner of Milwaukee; Will Martine of Racine; Kyle Yudes of Eau Claire; Roger Roth of Appleton; and David C. Varnum of Lancaster are seeking the Republican nomination for lieutenant governor. Democratic candidates Peng Her of Madison and Sara Rodriquez of Brookfield are seeking the Democratic nomination to replace Barnes, who is running for U.S. Senate.

Democratic Attorney General Josh Kaul is running unopposed for the party nomination, but the primary will decide whether Karen Mueller of Chippewa Falls, Eric Toney of Fond du Lac or Adam Jarchow of Balsam Lake will be his Republican challenger in November.

Shelley Nelson is a reporter with the Duluth Media Group since 1997, and has covered Superior and Douglas County communities and government for the Duluth News Tribune from 1999 to 2006, and the Superior Telegram since 2006. Contact her at 715-395-5022 or
What to read next
As reported by Douglas County Circuit Court.
As reported by Douglas County Circuit Court.
Enbridge said it could not find a leak and believe the contamination was from a past spill.