Voters favor incumbents in Douglas County, reject ATVs in Superior

Two incumbents beat their challengers for Superior City Council, while, three incumbents were re-elected to the Douglas County Board.
A voter walks into the polling site at the Government Center in Superior Tuesday morning, April 7. (Jed Carlson /

Superior voters stuck with incumbents where they could and elected Nicholas Ledin to serve as the new city councilor representing South Superior.

According to unofficial results released Monday, April 13, Councilor Brent Fennessey took 56% of the vote after facing a challenge from Amanda Foster for the 5th District, and Councilor Warren Bender took 63% of the votes when Kelly Schoen challenged him for the 3rd District seat.

Ledin, who will replace Dan Olson as the 1st District representative, took 53% of the vote, defeating challenger Kalee Hermanson.

RELATED: Maple, Superior school boards add new faces

RELATED: Jill Karofsky wins Wisconsin Supreme Court race


Voters in Superior also overwhelmingly rejected a proposal to allow all-terrain and utility-task vehicles to use most city streets. About 60% of voters rejected the advisory referendum introduced by Councilor Craig Sutherland.

More than half the ballots cast in the April 7 election were cast by absentee ballot in Superior after a push from election officials in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. Only 31 absentee ballots were rejected because they arrived after April 8 without a postmark or lacked necessary signatures; 3,664 absentee ballots cast in Superior.

Craig Rosand of Superior said it made sense to him that if the ballots arrived by April 8, they must have been in the mail on election day. Ballots that arrived after April 8 without a postmark were rejected by the board of canvassers during the final count April 13.

RELATED: Joe Biden wins Wisconsin Democratic presidential primary

In rural Douglas County, voters also sent incumbents back to the Board of Supervisors. Pat Ryan took 57% of the vote over challenger John Lohse in the 14th District, and Sue Hendrickson took 60% of the vote over challenger Jon Allen in the 15th District. Voters in Summit and Oakland also sent Joe Moen back to the board with 53% of the vote in the 18th District.

The one seat that will change is in the county’s 3rd District where Joel Certa-Werner ran unopposed for the seat held by Doug Finn, who retired this year after more than 40 years on the Board, most of them spent serving as its chairman.

This story was updated at 6:50 p.m. Monday, April 13 with results of the Douglas County Board races. It was originally posted at 6:10 p.m. on April 13.

What To Read Next
Get Local