Scholarships Johnathan Finkbeiner of Superior is the recipient of an Excellence Scholarship from Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn. Finkbeiner, a 2012 graduate of Superior High School, is the son of Paul and Cheryl Finkbeiner of Superior. The Dul...


Johnathan Finkbeiner of Superior is the recipient of an Excellence Scholarship from Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn. Finkbeiner, a 2012 graduate of Superior High School, is the son of Paul and Cheryl Finkbeiner of Superior.

The Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation board of trustees announced the 2012 scholarship recipients. This year, the foundation awarded scholarships from 39 different funds to more than 250 students in the region. Recipients include: Alyssa Maki, awarded Duluth Building and Construction Trades Council Scholarship; Annie Archambeau and Jennifer Ostrowski, Community Involvement Scholarships; Raquel Else of Superior, John A. and Jean Quinn Sullivan Scholarship, and Carolyn Severin, Superior East High All-Class Reunion Scholarship.

Academic honors

Kaleena L. Eck of Superior is on the North Dakota State University 2012 dean's list. She is pursuing a degree in nursing.


Milena Swanson of Superior is on the dean's list for the spring 2012 semester at Marquette University in Milwaukee.

Kayla Gobin of Superior is on the spring 2012 dean's list at St. Cloud State University in Minnesota.

Kristen A. Bustrak of Brule is on the dean's list at Northern Michigan University.

Isaac P. Beckel of Brule, Kristene A. Goettle of Gordon, Amber A. Gurske of Maple, Kevin M. Antonich of Poplar, and Ryan T. Miesbauer, Ashley C. Roske, Paige Rother and Kyle D. Standen of South Range are on the dean's list at the University of Minnesota Duluth. Also on the dean's list this spring are Melissa Archambault, Christopher Blake, Brent Engstrom, Clayton Gauthier, Elyse Gunderson, Aubrey Hagen, Alexander Hagstrom, Taylor Kosey, Eric LaGesse, Katie Latscher, Jeff Leslie, David Malyuk, Shaun Mattson, Lindsay Netland, Alexander Reich, Sean Sitek, Timothy Smith and Alexandra Swanson of Superior.

The following students have been named to the spring 2012 dean's list at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth: Allison Bustrak and Christine Kessler of Brule; Amber Kern of Dairyland; Marcus Wick, Nicole Hughes and Brendan Payton of Lake Nebagamon; Jessica Janke of Maple; Kaila Fiske of Minong; Kate Pearson of Poplar; and Laura Amys of South Range. Also included on the list are Superior residents Kevin Anderson, Andrea Beck, Nathanial Benoit, Megan Berg, Christa Diedrich, Peter Drinkwine, Richard Erickson, Karrie Gibson, Sara Greely, Calla Johnson, Tyler Johnson, Nicholas Maki, Nicole Nasholm, Helen Severin, Karen Sidorowicz, Michael VanMassenhove and Caitlin Vaughan.

Gretchen Grube of Poplar earned honors, Kyle Johnson of Brule earned high honors and Marki Nelson of Foxboro, Rebecca Sutherland of Hawthorne and Breanna Minor of Superior earned highest honors for the spring 2012 semester at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

Marquette University has named Milena Swanson of Superior to the 2012 spring semester dean's list.

Meghan Neibuhr of Poplar is on the Gonzaga university president's list for spring semester 2012.


A number of local students were named to the UW-Madison dean's list for the spring semester of the 2011-2012 academic year. Andrew Deming of Solon Springs and Laura Pierpont of Superior are on the dean's honor list; Zachary Erickson of Superior is on the dean's list and Stuart Burke of Superior is on the high honor roll.

UWS dean's list

UW-Superior announced local students included on its dean's list in spring 2012. They include Elizabeth Kessler and Roberta Meyer of Brule; Andrew Kirov of Gordon; Hayley Botten, Emily Davidson, Dara Fillmore, Jessica Jaworski, Christopher Jersett, Mark Jersett, Jesse Moss and Hanna Paquette of Lake Nebagamon; and Austin Lind of Maple. Anna Amys, Orrin Botten, Ian Deterling, Leah Karna and Chelsey Pavlovich of Poplar; and Megan Gaynor, Salann Gilbert, Tarah Groettum, Ariel Johnson, Melody Kosobucki, Tyler LaRose, Gretchen Molina, Jeredt Runions, Nicole Wegner and Tara Yrjanainen of Solon Springs also were named to the list. Students from South Range include Stephen Gant, David Hammersborg, Emily Hammersborg, Angel Petite and Kameron Young. Students from Superior include Nickolas Abrahamzon, Aaryn Ackley, Logan Amys, Aaron Anders, Andre Anderson, Dale Anderson, Brady Arneson, Elizabeth Benes, Kelly Bergstrom, Britnee Blake, Mark Brookmole, Stephanie Brown, Vallery Brown, Felicia Buck, Rebecca Buczynski, Stephanie Burgraff and Jessica Burns. Christina Cassano, Nutcha Charoenboon, Seungjin Choi, Lindsey Clark, Kylie Cochran, Scott Collins, Ryan Corbiell, Danielle Davis, Kiara DeKezel, Brian DeMar, Lindsey Dobson, Erick Dybvig, Emily Eisenmann, Raquel Else and Jena Engelking of Superior are also on the list. Miyuki Furusho, Jody Geissler, Rachel Gobin, Tim Gozanski, Amar Gurung, Kurtiss Helske, Christine Holland, Caitlin Homan, Nicholas Isaacson, Elizabeth Johnson, Jennifer Johnson, Raeann Johnson, Sarah Ann Johnson, Hyun Jun Kim, Minseo Kim, Taehyun Kim, Joshua Kimmes and Jenna Koski of Superior also earned the honor. So did Jana LaPine, Mandy Laakso, Jin Lee, Wentao Liu, Tricia Loukes, Sara Mahan, Raeanna Marnati, Jason McDowell, Scott McKay, Chelsea Meredith, Jenna Miller, Emily Minor, Kyle Mitchell, Erin Montgomery and Michael Moretto. Other Superior students included on the list are Haley Nelson, Samantha Nieman, Nicholas O'Connell, Stephanie O'Brien, Alyssa Olson, Ashlee Olson, Kevin Olson, Jenna Osterlund, Misty Osterlund, Amanda Palmer, Lindsey Paradice, Colin Pasterski, Jennifer Patton Lawson, Emily Peterson, Lance Peterson, Joel Pettingill and Carolyn Phillips. Allison Quick, Derek Ramey, Jenna Regner, Elizabeth Reichert, Sarah Riley, Jeremy Robinson, Debora Rocha, Ashley Russell, Jaesang Ryu, Janine Seifert, Jessica Shold, Gakven Monica Siu Siu, Dale St. Arnold, Kascie Sturtevant and Jacob Swanson of Superior made the list. So did Hiroko Tada, Stephanie Tappe, Lingnan Teng, Jonathan Turnage, Trent Van Damme, Laura Veroeven, Timothy Waldholm, Aaron Walding, Dong Wang, Garrett Wessberg, Jesse West, Lindsay Wiitala, Kristina Wood, Fei Xie, Adrea Youker, Whitney Zegarski, Bojian Zhang and Paula Ziems of Superior.


Gretchen Grube and Amy Rounsville of Poplar graduated from the UW-Stevens Point during spring 2012 commencements.

Sina Lindelof of Iron River and Josephine Nummi of Superior received bachelor's degrees May 19 from Hamline University, graduating cum laude. Lindelof is the daughter of David and Patti Lindelof of Iron River; and Nummi is the daughter of Julie Spehar of Superior.

Johanna Conrad and Jenna Willoughby of Lake Nebagamon, and Kerri Ritsche of South Range graduated from the UW-Eau Claire.

Nichole Gramstrup, Cassie Nelson, David Smith and Patrick Stariha of Superior, and Jarrett Tuura of Maple, graduated from the UW-Stout.

What To Read Next