Nelson wins fourth Modified feature at Superior Speedway

Darrell Nelson swept to his fourth Modified feature win of the season Friday night at the Superior Speedway joining three other multiple winners as they all added to their totals.

Darrell Nelson swept to his fourth Modified feature win of the season Friday night at the Superior Speedway joining three other multiple winners as they all added to their totals.

Scott Herrick won his third Street Stock feature, Ryan Aho topped the Super Stock feature winner, his fifth and Nick Lavato won his third Midwest Modified feature.

Due to the USA Nationals at the Cedar Lake Speedway, a $50,000 to win open Late Model show, as well as a DTRA event, the Late Model Division at the Superior Speedway was given the night off.

Butch Madsen was looking for his eighth Street Stock feature win in 11 tries, but a flat tire during the opening laps relegated Madsen to the rear of the field.

Madsen ran down the pack from nearly a half lap back and began to make his way forward. Despite a much needed caution flag, Madsen was unable to contend for the win settling for fifth.


With Madsen out of the running, it was left to pole sitter Scott Herrick to fight off Mark Froelich over the final circuits.

Herrick charged into the lead over the final two laps to take the win. Forelich took second while Mike Kalkbrenner finished third. Shane Kisling and Madsen rounded out the top five.

The Super Stock feature got off to a scary start when contact was made between Rick Simpson and Keith Kern.

Kern was spent spinning in the middle of the pack. Those following managed to avoid the stationary car with the exception of Tom Treviranus who did not see Kern until it was too late. He managed to spin sideways and collided heavily with Kern. Kern was uninjured, but Treviranus was carefully extracted from the wreck on a backboard and transported to the hospital.

At the restart with 19-laps remaining, Randy Silverness took the lead over pole-sitter John Copp, Mike Loomis, Ryan Aho and Trevor Wilson.

At the midpoint Scott Lawrence who had started 16th was up to sixth just behind newcomer D J Donlinger in fifth. Ryan Aho surged to the lead just past half way over Loomis, but a caution flag with seven laps left gave the point back to Loomis.

At the green flag, Aho sailed by Loomis, while Lawrence vaulted past Silverness to third. Slverness held off Copp, Donlinger, Steve Estey and Tim Borgeson -- who drove through the field from 18th into the top 10. A caution flag with three laps remaining set up a three-lap shootout.

Aho was able to stay in front of Loomis for his fifth win. Lawrence was third, with Borgeson fourth and Silverness fifth.


It was a rough start for the Modifieds, as the red flag flew early.

Eric Bjorkland led the first lap from the outside of the front row, but his car began to misfire and slow down the front stretch.

Second-running Darrell Nelson's quick reaction time helped him avoid Bjorkland, who was trying to get out of the way, but Jason Miller, Jeff Spacek and Rick Friendt piled into the almost stationary Bjorkland.

Only Miller was able to continue after the collision. After another 15-minute red flag delay, the 20-lap event went the distance from the restart, with Nelson driving off to a huge lead over Miller who had an advantage over Al Uotinen, Bill Byholm, Duane Dale, Jody Bellefeuille, Nick Nelson and Shawn Polonoski.

Miller held on to second, while Byholm slipped by Uotinein for third and Dale finished fifth.

Teammates Deven Van House and Wayne Engen led off the 15-lap Midwest Modified feature with Van House leading the initial circuit. Engen soon assumed the point, as Van House's car showed signs of faltering and he began to slide back through the pack to finish out of the top 10.

Tom O'Brien ran in the second spot until just past half way when point-leader Nick Lavato -- who had worked his way from the third row to third -- slipped past O'Brien into second.

Tonight at the Speedway will be the second visit of the World Dirt Racing League PolyDome Late Model Series for a $5,000 to win 50 lap feature as well as the 6th annual JW Zembo Super Stock Classic, which will pay the feature winner $1,500.


Also on the card will be the Street Stocks which will race for $800 to win thanks to a contribution by Portable Bore Repair & Welding of Superior.


Midwest Modified (17 cars)

Heat 1: Tom Smart, Greg Chesley, Jim Switzer, Tom O'Brien, Deven Van House.

Heat 2: Nick Lavato, Willy Thompson, Randy Vezina, Wayne Engen, E J Hietala.

Feature: Lavato, Engen, O'Brien, Switzer, Smart, Thompson, Greg Chesley, Jeff Pohjonen, D J Severin, E J Hietala.

Super Stock (27 cars)

Heat 1: Rick Simpson, Mike Loomis, Keith Kern, D J Donlinger, Jeff Tardy.


Heat 2: Destin Lorimor, Mike Bellefeuille, Steve Estey, Trevor Wilson, Robbie Cooper.

Heat 3: Randy Silverness, Ryan Aho, John Copp, Dale Gangl, Joe Olson.

B Feature: (6 transfer) Jim Campbell, Dave Flynn, Larry Boumeester, Rob Erickson, Joe Oliver, Tom Treviranus.

Feature: Aho, Loomis, Scott Lawrence, Tim Borgeson, Randy Silverness, John Copp, Gangl, Estey, Donlinger, Wilson.

Modified (18 cars)

Heat 1: Darrell Nelson, Don Copp, Al Uotinen, Nick Nelson, Eric Bjorkland.

Heat 2: Bill Byholm, Jason Miller, Duane Dale, Jeff Spacek, Jody Bellefeuille.

Feature: Nelson, Miller, Byholm, Uotinen, Dale, Bellefeuille, Polonoski, Copp, Jayme Lautigar, Kelly Checkalski.


Northern Vintage Stock Cars Feature: Kevin Lipsky, Dennis Olson, Marv Sayre.

What To Read Next
Get Local