Maple, Superior school boards add new faces

Voters keep 2 incumbents in Maple, one in Superior.
Election inspector Darrell Kyle, left, checks in a voter as she stands behind a taped line at the Lake Nebagamon Community Center Tuesday, April 7. (Jed Carlson /

The April 7 election returned three Douglas County incumbents to their school board seats and added two newcomers.

Laura Gapske and Steve Olson were elected to the two available seats on the Superior School Board, according to unofficial results posted on the Douglas County website. Newcomer Olson, a former teacher, athletic director and administrator with the Superior School District, received 42% of the votes.

This will be the second term for Gapske, a program director at First Witness Child Advocacy Center. She received 32% of the votes. Fellow incumbent Mary Smith-Johnson, a district-wide special education teacher for Duluth Public Schools, received 26% of the votes.

RELATED: Voters favor incumbents in Douglas County, reject ATVs in Superior

Voters in Douglas and Bayfield counties chose incumbents Gail Saari and Danna Livingston-Matherly and newcomer Brian Johnson for the three available seats on the Maple School Board.


Saari, who has served on the school board for two decades, received 1,228 votes; Minnesota Power retiree Johnson received 1,031 ; Livingston-Matherly, a criminal justice studies instructor at Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, got 906 votes. This will be her third term on the board.

Incumbent James Streveler, a former teacher and part-time beef farmer, received 835 votes, while challengers Milton Olson, retired, received 718 votes, and business owner Jason Deatherage received 594.

RELATED: Jill Karofsky wins Wisconsin Supreme Court race

RELATED: Joe Biden wins Wisconsin Democratic presidential primary

This article was updated at 2:02 p.m. April 16 to reflect official vote tallies from the Maple School District.

Maria Lockwood covers news in Douglas County, Wisconsin, for the Superior Telegram.
What To Read Next
Get Local