ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

Wisconsin laws concerning marriage licenses change July 1

Where and when couples can get marriage licenses for upcoming nuptials will change.

Silver wedding rings isolated on white
Pair of silver wedding rings with diamonds isolated on white background
Aleksa Torri/torriphoto - stock.adobe.com
We are part of The Trust Project.

SUPERIOR — With the increase in the number of weddings in the summer, the Douglas County Clerk’s Office would like to remind couples of the requirements for obtaining a marriage license and changes in the law that affect marriage licenses.

Wisconsin marriage laws and requirements are the same statewide; however, each county may differ slightly in regard to the application process and cost.

“When couples plan a wedding event, they sometimes overlook the most important item—applying for a marriage license,” Douglas County Clerk Susan Sandvick said.

Couples need to provide certified documentation to apply for a license, including state-issued birth certificates, and if they were previously married, a divorce decree, an annulment or a death certificate.

Effective July 1, where a couple can apply for a license, the waiting period and the validity of the license will change.

ADVERTISEMENT

The new requirements allow couples to apply in any Wisconsin county and marry anywhere in the state. If the ceremony is in another state, couples need to apply in that state. Once a couple applies for the license, there is a three-day waiting period before it is available, and the license is then valid to use for 60 days.

Previously, couples had to apply for the license in the county where one of the parties resided for 30 days or where the marriage ceremony would be performed. They had to wait five days before the license was available and had 30 days to marry once the license was issued.

The Douglas County Clerk’s Office requires appointments to apply for marriage licenses and couples need to bring all required documentation to the appointment.

Appointments are scheduled from 8:15 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. Monday-Friday by calling 715-395-1341.

Sandvick said couples should call four to five months in advance of the planned wedding date to avoid any last minute problems.

The application fee in Douglas County is $100.

For detailed information on the procedure for applying for a marriage license, visit douglascountywi.org , call or stop in the county clerk’s office, Courthouse Room 101, 1313 Belknap St., Superior.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
The Loved Never Forgotten memorial holds the names of 163 people. A picnic set for Aug. 20 will honor them.
Matt Izzard carried more than 62% of the vote Tuesday. As no Republicans are running for the office, the primary vote decided the outcome of the race.
Republican nominees elected by voters Tuesday will face uncontested Democratic challengers Nov. 8.
The new nonprofit helps people get the help they need with reassurance that their beloved pets will be in good hands.