SUBSCRIBE NOW Just 99¢ for your first month



Superior event honors retiring teachers, staff

The public is invited to attend the Salute to Service.

We are part of The Trust Project.

SUPERIOR — The School District of Superior will recognize district staff members who are retiring this year at the annual Salute to Service event May 24 at Superior Middle School.

Refreshments will be served starting at 4:30 p.m. and the Superior High School Ensemble will perform under the direction of Amy Eichers.

The recognition ceremony will begin at 5 p.m. The event is open to the public.

“We invite all those who have worked with retiring teachers, administrators, and staff members to join the board in acknowledging the dedicated work of these individuals,” said school board President Len Albrecht. “The Salute to Service is an opportunity to formally thank the many people who have dedicated their career to helping the children in our district.”

District staff members retiring this year include the following: Annette Albrecht, Jill Anderson, Dan Arvidson-Hicks, Kevin Bong, Margaret Braun, Denise Carlson, Charlotte Currie, Rita Dahl, Sue Dammer, Terri Dazzo, Patricia Dodge, Gary Duzell, Stephanie Evans, Melissa Isabella, Marybeth Jacob, Penny Johnson, Donna Kostynyk, Dale Lundgren, Anita Maki, Sondra Mowers, Ann Pappas, William Punyko, Delores Thormodsgard, Barbara Tomczak, Kathy Udean, Terri VanErt and Doris Waletzko.



What to read next
Anthony Bukoski, a professor emeritus of English at UWS, has earned two awards for "The Blondes of Wisconsin."
The 81-year-old with dementia walked away from her home Tuesday.
Funded with federal COVID-19 relief dollars, the grants can be used for a variety of things, including classroom materials, staff training and safety improvements.