Burnett County man killed in Dairyland motorcycle crash

Speed may have been a factor, according to the Douglas County Sheriff's Office.

We are part of The Trust Project.

DOUGLAS COUNTY — A Burnett County man was killed in a one-vehicle motorcycle crash in the town of Dairyland Oct. 28.

Allen Herrmann, 54, was traveling towards Wisconsin Highway 35 on Douglas County Road T and went into the opposite ditch while making a long, sweeping right turn, according to a Douglas County Sheriff’s Office report.

Deputy Brian Souza with the sheriff's office was dispatched to the area of East County Road T and East Big Beaver Road at about 6:47 p.m Oct. 28 for a motorcycle that had been found down the steep ditch with its lights still on. A passerby who walked down the embankment located a man, who was deceased, in the woods roughly 10 yards from the motorcycle.

Souza identified the man as Herrmann by his driver’s license. The deputy requested help from the Dairyland Volunteer Fire Department to search for any possible passengers. No other individuals were located.

Speed was likely a contributing factor to the crash, according to the report. When a towing company removed the motorcycle the speedometer, located nearby, had its needle frozen at just over 70 mph.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What To Read Next
Founder Summer Nitsch brings 25 years of marketing experience and the perspective of a new business owner to the agency.
As reported by Douglas County Circuit Court.
Read the latest news in the Dispatches from Douglas County newsletter published every Friday.
Darrell Kyle, Garner Moffat, Kevin Norbie and Mack Peters will face off in the Feb. 21 primary election.