Hanson gets fifth late model victory of season

PROCTOR -- Harry Hanson added to his season's point lead in the WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series late model feature Sunday night at the Proctor Speedway with his fifth victory of the season. It was a bad start for the 25-lap event as Danny Young ...

PROCTOR -- Harry Hanson added to his season's point lead in the WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series late model feature Sunday night at the Proctor Speedway with his fifth victory of the season. It was a bad start for the 25-lap event as Danny Young and Darrell Nelson clashed on the front stretch in heavy traffic. Young's car turned hard right at the end of the straight, contacted the earthmover tire guarding the end of the guardrail and executed a complete side over roll in the air, landing on its wheels. Young was visibly upset but apparently uninjured in the incident.

At the restart, pole-sitter Dave Esse took the lead but it took little time for Kyle Peterlin to make his way from row three to challenge Esse for the lead. Peterlin sailed around the outside to take the lead over Esse after another caution flag for an Aaron Lillo spin in turn three. Nelson was third as Hanson appeared from row four and quickly challenged Peterlin for the top spot. At the midpoint of the event, Hanson nipped Peterlin for the lead as Nelson joined them for a brief three-car battle. Hanson assumed charge of the event and went on to win his fifth of the season. Peterlin and Nelson ran second and third while Esse finished fourth. Lillo recovered from his spin to take the fifth spot.

Aurora's Duane Dale survived three caution flags to win his first WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Modified feature of the season at the speedway. Dale started from the outside of the front row, moved to the top shelf and quickly began to put distance on the pack. It turned out to be a race for second as Dale played hare to the hounds for the entire 20 laps. Jeff Spacek appeared to be able to gain some ground on Dale but soon had his hands full as Ryan Aho, Darrell Nelson and Jody Bellefeuille closed in. Kelly Estey was charging toward the front after being the cause of the first caution flag. Dale won the event with ease over Spacek, Aho, Nelson and Estey.

Duluthian Mike Bellefeuille overtook leader Sam Skalsky just past the halfway mark of the 20-lap WISSOTA super stock feature. Bellefeuille came back from a first lap clash on the front stretch to track down Skalsky and grab the lead, but Skalsky and Jay Kuras would not let him get away as a three-car battle ensued. After point leader Jeff Tardy sailed off turn three and four with some help, Skalsky challenged for the lead, but Bellefeuille proved to be too strong in the upper groove. Donnie Lofdahl brought out the last of three caution flags as he slid off turn three, setting up a two-lap shootout. Skalsky and Bellefeuille went wheel-to-wheel for the win, but it was Bellefeuille who led the final circuit for his second feature win of the season. Skalsky, Kevin Eder, Kuras and Jeff Ruzich rounded out the top five.

Greg Chesley of Duluth notched his fifth WISSOTA Midwest modified feature win of the season to solidify his position atop the track point standings. Six caution flags kept the action close throughout the 20-lap feature as the pack at the front included Adam Archer, Deven VanHouse, Lance Solem, Jimmy Latvala and Clint Larson. At the halfway mark, Chesley had taken the lead over Archer, Solem, Latvala and Larson. Sixth-starting Steve Stuart joined the battle to compete with Jesse Ogston and Monte Hall, who rebounded from an earlier caution flag to get back in the battle. Inside the last five laps Chesley, was cruising out front to the eventual win over Archer, Larson, Latvala and Stuart in the top five.


The evening finished up with the 15-lap pure stock main event. Pat Van Ert used his outside front row starting spot to his advantage as he jumped to the early lead leaving Jon McKinnon, Dan Follett, Al Rapp, Andrew LaBarge and Josh Loucks to squabble for the second spot. It appeared as though no caution flags would slow the event, but the red flag appeared when Matt Hammitt got turned sideways and rolled over coming to rest on his roof with LaBarge's car partially on top. No one was injured but Hammitt was done for the event. Van Ert's car appeared to be on rails as he sailed around in the dangerous top groove to his first feature win at the Proctor Speedway "in a long, long time" he said. Loucks, McKinnon, Al Rapp and LaBarge finished in the lead quintet. The finish was unofficial as a tear down of one of the four cars behind the winner was not finished at press time.

Results Proctor Speedway Sunday 8-10-08

WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Late Models (17 cars)

(10 lap heats)

Heat 1: Kyle Peterlin, Tom Nesbitt, Danny young, Jason Miller, Aaron Lillo, Tim McMann, Greg Hill, Jeff Massingill, Kevin Carlson

Heat 2: Harry Hanson, Cory Jorgenson, Darrell Nelson, Dave Esse, Todd Gehl, Terry Lillo, John Massingill, Matt Sorenson

Feature (25 laps) Hanson, Peterlin, Nelson, Esse, A. Lillo, Gehl, Nesbitt, McMann, Jeff Massingill, Hill, Miller, John Massingill, Sorenson, Jorgenson, T. Lillo, Young, Carlson

WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Modified (16 cars)


(8 lap heats)

Heat 1: Duane Dale, Darrell Nelson, Jad Carlson, Kelly Estey, Jeff Wood, Jayme Lautigar, Justin Jones, Travis Zollar

Heat 2: Nick Lavato, Ryan Aho, Jeff Spacek, Jody Bellefeuille, Steve Lavasseur, Wayne Stricker, Jim inman, John Carpenter

Feature (20 laps): Dale, Spacek, Aho, Nelson, Estey, Wood, Lautigar, Lavasseur, Stricker, Jones, Carlson, Carpenter, Bellefeuille, Lavato, Inman. Zollar DNS.

WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Super Stock (25 cars)

(8 lap heats)

Heat 1: Jeff Ruzich, Mike Bellefeuille, Andy Grymala, Kevin Salin, Jeremy Fink, Mike Vajdl, Bruce Johnson, Adam Long, Todd Carlson

Heat 2: Sam Skalsky, Kevin Eder, Andy Davey, Jeff tardy, Tom Treviranus, Scott Heikkinen, Randy Murray, Eric Nelson


Heat 3; Donnie Lofdahl, louis meglen, Jay Kuras, Ronnie malecki, Robbie Cooper, Gary Cornelison, Steve Carlson, Jacob Lukanen

B Feature (8 laps) Vadjl, Johnson, Cornelison, T. Carlson, Murray, Lukanen, Long, S. Carlson, Nelson, Heikkinen

Feature (20 laps) Bellefeuille, Skalsky, Eder, Kuras, Ruzich, Davey, Fink, Grymala, Cooper, Salin, Malecki, Johnson, Heikkinen, Lofdahl, T. Carlson, Murray, Cornelison, Vajdl, Meglen, Tardy, Treviranus

WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series Midwest Modified (22 cars)

(8 lap heats)

Heat 1: Jimmy Latvala, Steve Stuart, Deven VanHouse, Skeeter Estey, Bill Brouse, Steve VanHouse, Jeff Peterson, Bruce Johnson

Heat 2: Greg Chesley, Rick Przbylski, Lance solem, Brad Anderson, Andrew Inman, Tony Ciurleo, Mike Avery

Heat 3: Adam Archer, Jesse Ogston, Clint Larson, E. J. Hietala, Glen Dammer, Jacob Morinville, Monte Hall


Feature (20 laps) Chesley, Archer, Larson, Latvala, Stuart, Ogston, Anderson, Solem, Heitala, Hall, Ciurleo, S. VanHouse, Peterson, Inman, Brouse, Dammer, D VanHouse, Przbylski, Estey, Morinville, Avery

Proctor Pure Stock (22 cars)

(8 lap heats)

Heat 1: Dan Follett, Andrew LaBarge, Pete Ciurleo, Scott Larsen, Mark Korte, Austin Blom, Rick Cornelison, Tom Cornelison.

Heat 2: LeRae Ralidak, Pat Van Ert, Al Rapp, Dan Larsen, Tasha Rapp, Kyle Inman, Jim Cooper.

Heat 3: Josh Loucks, Matt Hammitt, Jon McKinnon, Corey Ziebol, Ashley Smith, Jeff Engelmeier, Tim Carlson.

Feature (15 laps): Van Ert, Loucks, McKinnon, A. Rapp, LaBarge, Ralidak, D. Larsen, Blom, Ciurleo, T. Carlson, R. Cornelison, T. Cornelison, S. Larsen, Ziebol, Cooper, Smith, Engelmeier, T. Rapp, Follett, Hammitt, Inman, Korte.

What To Read Next
Get Local