Douglas County’s planning and zoning committee Wednesday, Nov. 10, authorized seeking a grant to benefit residents in the 10 counties of Northwestern Wisconsin.

The county is seeking funding through the Wisconsin Community Development Block Grant housing program for small cities.

Funding through the program helps low- to moderate-income people pay for repairs to their homes in Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Rusk, Taylor or Washburn counties. Residents living in the city of Superior are not eligible for the program because the city is a CDBG entitlement community.

Money is made available through 0% interest loans with deferred payments until the property is transferred.

Rehabilitation projects can include roofing, siding, heating, electrical, insulation, foundation repairs, windows and doors, well and septic, sewer and water laterals and accessibility.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Landlords with qualifying rental units can access 0% interest loans amortized up to 10 years.

Down payment assistance loans up to half of the down payment cost up to 10% are also available through the regional housing program.

The program is managed by Northwest Regional Planning Commission. For information, contact Kimberly Gifford at 715-635-2197 or visit