North End has new representation following the Tuesday, April 6, election.

Voters decided Lindsey Graskey is the candidate to replace longtime City Councilor Esther Dalbec. Dalbec was first elected in 2005 until an election defeat in 2011. She was reappointed to the Superior City Council in 2013 after the death of the district’s representative and has served ever since. She decided not to run for re-election this year.

Graskey, general manager, creative director and part proprietor of the Spirit Room, and Kevin Keener Jr., a founder of North End Days, Exalted Ruler of the Elks Club and Essentia Health employee, both ran for the seat because of their desire to serve Superior’s northernmost neighborhood.

Lindsey Graskey
Lindsey Graskey

Graskey won the seat with 82% of the vote, according to unofficial results.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

“My interest in running for City Council is to make sure North End is noticed, invested in and heard,” Graskey said during her campaign. After knocking on doors and meeting with residents, she said she plans to stay connected with residents to elevate their voices as she makes decisions on the council.

Graskey serves on the city’s festival and Nemadji Golf Course committees as a citizen representative.

Councilors Jenny Van Sickle, Jack Sweeney, Tylor Elm and Craig Sutherland ran in uncontested races and will be sworn in for their next two-year term April 20 as Graskey starts her first term on the council.

A voter hands his identification to voting officials before receiving his ballot at the Government Center in Superior Tuesday morning, April 6. (Jed Carlson /
A voter hands his identification to voting officials before receiving his ballot at the Government Center in Superior Tuesday morning, April 6. (Jed Carlson /

In other contested races in Douglas County:

  • Tim Haakenson defeated Denny Kline with almost 77% of the vote for Gordon Town Board chair. James Hankins and Craig Golembiewski Jr. won two seats on the Gordon Town Board in a four-way race.
  • Guy Clemmer and Conrad Johnson won the two Hawthorne Town Board seats in a three-way race.
  • Randy A. Polson and Dana Dolsen won the two seats on the Oakland Town Board in a four-way race.
  • Justin Prendergast defeated Stephen Moen with 68% of the vote to serve as chair on the Parkland Town Board.
  • Angela Botner took 58% of the vote to defeat Doug McCuskey for chair of the Solon Springs Town Board.
  • Summit voters elected Daniel Corbin to serve as chair with 60% of the vote over Alan White. Daniel Zuchowski and Rae Ann Anderson will serve on the Summit Town Board after capturing most of the votes in a three-way race.
  • Kim Sorensen and Chuck Youngquist were elected to the Wascott Town Board in a three-way race.
  • Eric Anderson, Adam Buchanan and Jake Fuller were elected as trustee to the Lake Nebagamon Village Board in a field of five candidates.
  • John H. Wick defeated Joseph W. Podgorak to serve as president of the Superior Village Board.

Overall, voter turnout in Douglas County was slightly less than 21% for the spring election.

This story was updated at 8:39 a.m. April 7 to add town and village election results. It originally posted at 10:18 p.m. April 6.