The ballots are set for the nonpartisan spring election.

On April 7, voters will decide who represents them in all 21 Douglas County Board districts. The odd-numbered Superior City Council seats are on the ballot, as well.

Statewide, voters will decide in February who moves on to the April election for a 10-year term on the Wisconsin Supreme Court. Justice Daniel Kelly, appointed by Gov. Scott Walker in 2016, faces challenges from Ed Fallone, a Marquette University Law School professor, and Dane County Circuit Court Judge Jill J. Karofsky.

Only three Douglas County Board supervisors are facing a challenge this year — all of whom represent rural districts.

Incumbent Pat Ryan of County Road C is facing a challenge from John Lohse of East Burning Tree Drive to represent most of the town of Superior, and the villages of Superior and Oliver.

Incumbent Susan Hendrickson, who represents a portion of the town of Superior and Parkland, is facing a challenge from Jon Allen of Lee Road.

And incumbent Joseph Moen is facing a rematch against former supervisor Dan Corbin. Two years ago, Moen unseated Corbin as the representative for the town of Oakland and the northern portion of Summit.

Joel Certa-Werner of North 16th Street is the lone candidate to step forward to run for the seat held by former County Board Chairman Doug Finn for almost 40 years.

In addition to supervisors representing the 13 districts in the city, County Board Chairman Mark Liebaert and Supervisors Scott Luostari, Steven Long, Jim Borgeson and Mary Lou Bergman are running unopposed.

Three races set for City Council

In Superior, three of the five seats on the ballot are contested, and two districts are headed for primary contests to narrow the field of candidates.

In the 1st District, where Councilor Dan Olson is stepping down at the end of his sixth term, Kalee Hermanson of Central Avenue, Nicholas Ledin of Oakes Avenue and Brian DeMar of Ogden Avenue are vying to replace him. Only two will move on after the Feb. 18 primary to the April 7 election.

Incumbent Brent Fennessey is facing two challengers for the 5th District seat on the Council. Amanda Foster of Norwood Avenue and Joshua Johnson of Belknap Street are running for a chance to serve the district that includes Central Park.

Newcomer Kelly Schoen of Ogden Avenue is challenging 3rd District incumbent Warren Bender, who has served on the Council since 2008.

Councilors Ruth Ludwig in the 7th District and Keith Kern in the 9th are running unopposed.

Absentee voters will get two primary ballots

With the nonpartisan primaries running in conjunction with the special primary for Wisconsin's 7th Congressional District, permanent absentee voters will receive two ballots, said Superior City Clerk Terri Kalan.

“There are two ballots for the February election,” Kalan said. “Ballot A includes only the contest for the 7th Congressional District as it is a federal election.”

Permanent absentee voters may have already received Ballot A, since ballots must be mailed 47 days prior to a federal election.

Ballot B, which will be mailed by Jan. 28, will include the nonpartisan state and local races as well as the 7th Congressional District race.

Voters who cast their ballots at the polls will only see Ballot B.

Permanent absentee voters are encouraged to vote again in the congressional race even if they’ve already voted using Ballot A.

“If both ballots are returned to our office, only Ballot B, containing all the contests, will be counted,” Kalan said.