Douglas County is making a commitment to support renewable energy projects for the health and well-being of its residents and for economic development in the city.

The Douglas County Board adopted the resolution by County Board Chairman Mark Liebaert and Supervisors Sue Hendrickson and Michael Raunio on Thursday, Aug. 15.

The commitment to lower the county’s carbon footprint when possible comes just two months after the board postponed indefinitely a proposal by the Chequamegon chapter of Citizens’ Climate Lobby to support the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act of 2019, H.R. 763.

The bill was introduced in the House of Representative in January by Rep. Theodore Deutch, D-Fla. It would create a Carbon Dividend Trust Fund, supported by a carbon tax, for the American people to encourage market-driven innovation of clean energy technologies to reduce pollution.

“I’d like to thank the supervisors bringing this forward,” said Supervisor Keith Allen, who made the motion to postpone indefinitely a vote supporting H.R. 763. “It’s not that I didn’t support it last time. This just makes more sense to me.”


Douglas County nixes support for carbon tax

Douglas County panel lends support to carbon tax

Allen opposed the carbon tax because the American people would end up paying for it.

The resolution adopted Thursday by the County Board makes no financial commitment to renewable energy, but promises to support projects that use solar, wind, biomass, hydropower and geothermal technology to create energy.

Liebaert said the resolution could help the county as the city and county continue discussions with Superior Water, Light and Power for development of a solar garden in Superior.

“We’ll try to make sure that the project goes forward and that the county obtains something out of it,” Liebaert said.