Lake Superior Elementary School in the Superior School District has been recognized by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos as one of 367 National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2020.

“It’s a privilege to recognize the extraordinary work you do to meet students’ needs and prepare them for successful careers and meaningful lives,” DeVos said in a news release congratulating all the honorees.

Lake Superior Elementary is one of eight Wisconsin schools to receive the national honor, which recognizes academic excellence and schools that make strides toward closing achievement gaps.

“The educators and staff at these schools have shown tireless dedication in supporting students and helping set them up for success. These schools serve as examples of the progress we are making as a state in improving student outcomes,” said State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor in a news release.

Lake Superior Elementary School earned the award for its exemplary work in closing the achievement gap, scoring in the top 15% on the “closing gaps” priority area of Wisconsin’s school report cards.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Principal Dan Arvidson-Hicks said he was honored by the school’s recognition.

“I appreciate that this recognition for our school is truly a community effort. Many thanks and congratulations to everyone who has contributed to making Lake Superior Elementary School a 2020 National Blue Ribbon School,” Arvidson-Hicks said in a news release.

This year’s awards ceremony will be held virtually Nov. 12 and 13.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 38th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed almost 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools, with some schools winning multiple awards, according to the news release. Schools are eligible for nomination after five years.

According to the National Blue Ribbon School database, 207 Wisconsin schools have earned recognition since the program began in 1982. They include Iron River Elementary School in the School District of Maple, which earned National Blue Ribbon status in 2018 for closing achievement gaps. Bayfield Elementary School earned recognition in 2019 for closing achievement gaps.

Visit the National Blue Ribbon School website for more information.