The University of Wisconsin-Superior's annual Faculty and Staff Recognition program was held May 11 in the Yellowjacket Union to honor faculty and staff being honored for their service and commitment to the university.

Professor of mathematics and computer science Dr. Sergei Bezroukov was awarded the Distinguished Creativity Award. This award is open to full-time faculty and teaching academic staff with a minimum of three years of service.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Rachel Portinga, senior lecturer of biology, was the recipient of the Academic Service-Learning Excellence Award for her demonstrated teaching excellence in integrating service learning in her environmental science course.

Recipient of the University Staff Excellence Award was IS systems development services senior Mike Olson. This is in recognition of ongoing exemplary service to the university.

The Making Excellence Inclusive Award went to the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning, which includes Monica Roth Day, director, associate dean, professor of social work; Del Wright, media specialist; Stacy Leno, senior information process consultant; Rebecca Graetz, instructional program manager; and Thora Papineau, university services program associate. This award honors individuals or group on campus whose actions consistently and visibly personify the spirit of diversity and inclusivity.

The Outstanding Team/Unit/Office Award was presented to Developmental Writing. The instructors include senior lecturers in writing, John McCormick, and Heather McGrew.

Dr. Eleni Pinnow, associate professor of psychology, received the Teaching/Online Teaching Excellence Award, presented to individuals who demonstrate teaching excellence through evidence of exceptional learning outcomes and quality student advising.

The Max H. Lavine Award was awarded to associate professor of chemistry Dr. Lorena Rios Mendoza for scholarly contributions to contemporary concerns. It is presented to a faculty member who has published a paper on a topic relevant to major problem areas in contemporary society.

Associate professor of writing, Jamie White-Farnham, was awarded the Excellence in Scholarship Award for making a significant contribution to their field of study.

Jon Garver, sports information manager, was the recipient of the Academic Staff Excellence Award for exemplary service to the university.

The Distinguished Service Award was presented to associate professor of economics Dr. Rubana Mahjabeen for substantial contribution to the university or community.

Spirit of Superior Awards were presented to professor Dr. Maria Cuzzo, director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusivity, and senior diversity officer Dr. Jerel Benton, and IS tech services senior, Jay Conley. The Spirit of Superior Unit/Team/Office award was given to the Graduate Education Online team of Terri Kronzer, professor of educational leadership and Maryjane Burdge, assistant professor of educational leadership. This award is given to individuals or departments who actively demonstrate and model the values of UW-Superior and as a result are making a difference in the campus climate and the lives of those who work and study on campus.

Kathy Christiansen, greeter and cashier for Chartwells, was the recipient of the Special Spirit of Superior Award for the difference she makes on campus and especially in the lives of students who live and study on campus.