The Superior Police Department held its annual awards and swearing-in ceremony Thursday in the Government Center.

Three new officers were sworn in and will head to recruit school May 21 at Chippewa Valley Technical College. Lucas Ciciora, formerly from Chicago, worked for Cook County Corrections in Illinois. He now lives in Superior and works as a Douglas County jailer. He is a U.S. Army infantry veteran and earned a Master's in Business Administration with a focus on finance.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Austin Johnson of Cloquet is a graduate of Cloquet High School and Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College. He is a Minnesota National Guard infantryman and military security guard at the Duluth Air Base.

Taavi Mattson of Superior graduated from Superior High School in 2014 and the University of Wisconsin-Superior in 2017. Mattson is a member of the SPD Auxiliary Unit and works at the Douglas County Jail.

Also recognized were two officers sworn in April 9 who were already certified as Wisconsin law enforcement officers and started in the department's field training program April 14. Peter Erickson of Two Harbors and Damen Rankin of Lake Nebagamon, joined the department in early April.

The department also issued a variety of awards, determined by a committee of officers' peers. They include:


Tyler Rude, Brian Davis, Adam Johnson, Charlie Mahlen and Chris Woolery were recognized for administering CPR.

John Fontaine, Mikayla LeRette and Matt Brown rescued overdose patients by administering Narcan.

Meritorious Conduct

Douglas County 911 Dispatcher Ashley Engelman received a 911 call from a suicidal 16-year-old threatening to jump off the Nemadji train trestle. She negotiated with the 16-year-old as she directed officers to him and arranged a surrender. The teen was safely taken into custody.

Officer Bonnie Beste and District Attorney Mark Fruehauf handled a kidnapping that started in Superior. The suspect and victim were stopped in Duluth. Fruehauf prepared an arrest warrant that allowed Duluth police to hold the kidnapping suspect.

Beste investigated a parental abduction of a 5-year-old taken to Texas by his mother. She coordinated with Texas authorities and the U.S. Marshals Service. The 5-year-old was located and the custodial parent in Superior went to Texas to retrieve the child.

Letters of Commendation

Numerous letters of commendation were issued to Brad Jago (recovering a stolen iPad); Fontaine (using Facebook to ID a drug dealer who gave a false ID; seized a pound of marijuana and $790); Griffith Coffman (setting up a drug buy and arresting two dealers and confiscating two knives); Michelle Lear and Coffman (Shack Liquor Store burglary response and investigation); Davis, Gary Kneisl, Coffman, Todd Ayers, Jeff Darst, Johnson, Fontaine, Deputy Brian Witt, UWS Officers Joe Eikman and Keith Douglas (arrest of Joseph Eastman and Joseph Pederson on felony warrants); Josh Kneeland (robbery investigation); Fontaine and Brown (warrant arrest of subject who lied about ID and locating guns taken in a burglary); Jackie Groshens (locating intoxicated driver suspect and following until marked squad cars intercepted); Brad Esler (car break-ins investigation); Adam Poskozim, Mike Jaszczak, Lear, Beste and Paul Winterscheidt (negotiations with a man threatening to jump from Blatnik Bridge); Greg Swanson ("American Girl" doll burglary investigation); and Jon McKinnon, Brown, Jeff Dwyer, Nick Eastman, Jeff Harriman, Kneeland, Justin McIntosh, Coffman, and 911 dispatcher Carolyn Anderson and Emily Stevens (hostage situation leading to surrender of suspect). 13. Marc Letendre (weeks-long landlord/tenant issue of squatters refusing to leave that ended with owner regaining control of property); Tom Champaigne, Fontaine, Esler, Eastman, Cory Hanson, Poskozim, Gary Gothner (man with a knife refusing to give himself up; Champaigne, Bill Lear, Winterscheidt, Jago, Mahlen, Eastman and K9 Marik, McIntosh, Rude, Woolery, Todd Carlson, Johnson, Jeff Felton, LeRette, Dwyer, Jon Marchiori, Mike Kendall and Darst, and Douglas County Sheriff's officers Matt DeRosia, Jake Engelman, Mike Bach, Mike Johansen, Ed Gallagher, Patrick Carey and Corey Fossum (man barricaded in Nottingham Apartments and shooting of Billings Park man).

This year, officers Davis, Carlson, Johnson, Coffman, Fontaine, Chris Kirchoff, Thor Trone, Rude, Harriman and Nicholas Alexander receive the fitness award.