For the first time in four decades, voters have only one choice for mayor in the April election.

Mayor Jim Paine is running unopposed for his second term in office.

The last time that happened was in 1979, when then-Mayor Bruce Hagen was seeking his second term in office, according to City Clerk Terri Kalan.

While Paine is running unopposed, three city councilors are facing challenges this spring.

Councilor Jenny Van Sickle, who is finishing her first term on the Council this spring, is facing a challenge from Tom Wondolkowski in the spring election.

Wondolkowski is a member of the Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission, is president of the Superior Public Library board of trustees, and was recently appointed to the Historic Preservation Committee, which hasn't held its inaugural meeting yet. Wondolkowski also organizes the community fundraising effort, "A Night without a Home," and is a member of the Rotary and has been involved in the Lake Superior Dragon Boat Festival for the 18 years.

While the time wasn't right two years ago, when former Councilor Tom Bridge decided he wouldn't run again, Wondolkowski said he's getting closer to retirement, making it a good time to put his words into action. He said he has talked about serving on the Council for a long time.

Van Sickle, who joined the Council as the 2nd District representative in April 2017, serves on the city's License and Fees, Public Works and Wisconsin Point committees, the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Superior and the Metropolitan Interstate Council.

Councilor Jack Sweeney, who has represented the 4th District since April 2013, is facing a challenge from a Superior School Board member, Laura Gapske.

Gapske was elected to the School Board in 2017. Gapske could not be reached by the Telegram's deadline.

Sweeney also served on the Douglas County Board until he lost re-election after redistricting pitted incumbent against incumbent in 2012.

One-term Councilor Craig Sutherland in the 8th District is facing a challenge from Matt Osterlund.

Osterlund, a professional tattoo artist, was recently appointed to the city's Historic Preservation Committee. He said he also volunteers with Lutheran Social Services and Together for Youth. He said it was his experiencing with Lutheran Social Services that made him want to be more involved in the community where he's lived his whole life.

In addition to serving on the Council, Sutherland is involved in the Billings Park Business Association and is an organizer of Billings Park Days.

In other races this spring:

• Voters will decide between two state appellate court judges to determine who will replace Justice Shirley Abrahamson after more than 40 years on the Wisconsin Supreme Court. Chief Judge Lisa Neubauer of Racine and Judge Brian Hagedorn of Oconomowoc are vying for the seat on the high court.

• In the 3rd District Court of Appeals, which includes Douglas County, incumbent Lisa Stark is running unopposed.

• Only incumbents Robert Morehouse and Christine Kintop are running for two seats on the Superior School Board.

• Incumbents Nancy Lind and Mike Granlund are running unopposed for two seats on the Maple School Board.

• In the School District of Solon Springs, incumbent Keith A. Nordskog and newcomer Bradford R. Hunter are vying for two seats. One seat would be for a regular three-year term; the other is for a two-year term. The two-year seat was held by Shelley Blaylock until she resigned Sept. 29 due to a change of residency. Romine Deming was appointed to the seat for the remainder of the first year, but is not running for election this spring.

There will be no primary in February. The General Election is April 2.