The University of Wisconsin-Superior has recently selected its 2017-2018 McNair Scholars Cohort. Students from UWS, the University of Minnesota Duluth and Northland College are all eligible for the program.

The cohort includes Jack Mageto (UMD) of St. Michael, Minn., biology; Noah Mercil (UMD) of Detroit Lakes, Minn., jazz studies; Liandra Skenandore (Northland) of Ashland, Wis., English; Meghan Brun of Cass Lake, Minn., social work; Tiffany Nelson of Cedar City, Utah, legal studies; Brady McDonough of South Range, communicating arts; Cody Reed, Social Work, Poplar, Wis.; Dakota Rice of Upson, Wis., business/economics; and Shalese Snowdon of Warroad, Minn., legal studies. Superior residents Janet Branley, sociology; Claude Nelson, exercise science; and Brittany Pufall, psychology, were also selected.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

These students will engage in different aspects of research and graduate school prep. In addition, each scholar will formulate a research topic and work one-on-one with a mentor in developing, researching and presenting their topic, which will be presented in September 2018 at UWS's annual McNair Scholars Symposium.

The McNair Scholars Program is a nationwide program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that prepares income-eligible, first-generation college students and students from groups underrepresented in graduate education for doctoral study.