Weather Forecast


Students audition in UWS piano competition

Five students qualified to compete at state following audition March 4 at the University of Wisconsin-Superior. This event was sponsored by the Superior Area Music Teachers Association, a local chapter of Wisconsin Music Teachers Association.

The state competition takes place May 19 at UW-LaCrosse. Students qualified to compete at state are Natalie Sandor, Benjamin Hintzman, Zachary Grohn, Emma Jones and Selah Swanson.

There were 42 participants representing four teachers; Alex Sandor, David Packa, Roberta Grube, and Hector Landa.

Points are awarded each year and accumulated over time. Those who received their 22-point plaque this year include Sasha Achucarro, Claire Beebe, A.J. Ketola, Henry Pooler, Gabriel Thomas, and Samuel Van Loon.

Olivia Beebe, Asher Gilderman, Hailey Gilderman, Eliana Lammi, Adeline Pooler, and Emily Thompson earned their 50-point bar.

The 75-point bar was awarded to Selah Swanson.

The 100-hundred point plaque was earned by Jayden Ketola.

Adaline Heller earned her 125-point bar. Elizabeth Evans earned her 150-point bar and Sannah Arvidson-Hicks earned the 175 point bar.

The 200 hundred point plaque was earned by Natalie Sandor and Benjamin Hintzman earned the 250 point bar.

Mollie Middleton, Arvidson-Hicks, Grohn, and Heller also earned the four year high school participation medal. Middleton has participated five years, Arvidson-Hicks nine years, and Heller and Grohn 11 years each in WMTA auditions.