Eight local writers were honored in the Lake Superior Writers annual writing contest. The theme was "Rescue." Their winning stories are available on the Lake Superior Writers website, lakesuperiorwriters.org/2018-writing-contest.

Michael Creger was the winner for creative nonfiction with "Dear Lorraine." Honorable mention in the category went to Avesa Rockwell for "Natural Consequences."

The poetry winner was "Minnesota Headline 2018: Undocumented Immigrants Follow a Perilous Path to Canada" by Deborah Rasmussen, with Hannah Fordice receiving honorable mention for "Bird Called Memory."

Tim Strom was the short story winner with "The Drowning Man" by Tim Strom; honorable mention went to "Black Like Swede" by Maria Macioce.

"Footing" by Terry Spangler Dunham won for short, short-story; and "Safety" by R.A. Savary took honorable mention.

Lake Superior Writers supports the artistic development of writers and fosters a vibrant literary arts community in Northeastern Minnesota and Northern Wisconsin. For information, visit lakesuperiorwriters.org or email writers@lakesuperiorwriters.org.