The Thaddeus Kosciuszko Fraternal Aid Society (Polish Club) in Superior observes the 91st anniversary of its founding Thursday, Aug. 1.

The Kosciuszko Society organized Aug. 1, 1928, through the consolidation of seven separate Polish societies that had a combined membership of 100. The primary function of the club was mutual aid to assist members, particularly when there was illness or death.

Among the organizers were Boleslaw Turel, Jan Dominik, Kazimeriz Anecki, Aleksander Butkiewicz, Josef Korycinski, Piotr Kareleski, Franciszek Grochowski, Konstanty Zawacki and Adolf Jenda. The Rt. Rev. Msgr. L.S. Nowacki was their adviser.

From 1928 to 1943, the organization functioned only as a fraternal aid society. In April 1943, the headquarters moved to 1710 Broadway and in addition to mutual aid activities, expanded to club activities for the social welfare of its members.

The Polish Club purchased the former Redmen building at 1901 Broadway in July 1963 and held its grand opening in September of that year. At that time, the interior of the building was completely redecorated and new facilities added to make the club rooms among the finest in the city.

Since May 2008, the club has held its monthly meetings at the Fraternal Order of Eagles, 1710 N. 12th St.

The club has no state or national affiliation; it is an independent organization formed by the Polish and Slovak people of Superior.

Among a number of past presidents who were instrumental in developing the organization were Paul Piech, Charles Zielinski, Konstanty Zawacki, Anthony Micholski, Walter Rutkowski, Walter Simzak, Anthony Gronski, John W. Sislo, Thomas Marceski, Julius Bachinski and Frank Stepan.

For a number of years, the Kosciuszko Society has contributed to several local charities and public television on an annual basis. This year, the Thaddeus Kosciuszko Fraternal Aid Society began sponsoring a $500 scholarship through Superior High School.

Currently, the Polish Club has 30 active members. Present officers of the club are Dan Zuchowski, president; Joe Hizinski, vice president; Lynn Granberg, treasurer; Paul Grymala, secretary; and Jeff Dembroski, sergeant-at-arms.