Weather Forecast




Thanael Certa-Werner of Superior is among five students selected to receive the Bishop Leadership Award, a four-year, $14,000 annual scholarship for United Methodist students who demonstrate strong commitment to youth leadership in their local church and pledges to be active in student ministry at Dakota Wesleyan University.


More than 200 Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College students from the four campuses graduated and joined the workforce in December. Students from the area who graduated include Timothy Sittarich of Brule, practical nursing; Abigail Talcott of Lake Nebagamon, cosmetology; Poplar residents Chelsey Khalar, cosmetology, and Jacquelyn Phillips, Associate degree in nursing; Solon Spring residents Evander Grubbe, emergency medical technician, and Kate LaRose, practical nursing; and South Range residents Jeffrey McClellan, automotive maintenance technician, and Richard Tyler, paramedic technician. Students from Superior who graduated include Shelby Ayde, Sara Belanger, James Gavin, Rachael Lackner and Sara Radzak, practical nursing; Deborah Brzezinski, Courtney Dugger, Stephanie Gillespie, Marissa Glaus, Lisa Koplin, Genevieve Palmer and Yoshiko Wood, Associate degree nursing; Amy Fiegle, Loni Leppioja and Lauren Wojciechowski, emergency medical technician; Kelcee Janigo, cosmetology; Chasity Point and Malinda Rinnet, medical office specialist; Susan Sanda, administrative prof; Valerie Van Landschoot, accounting; and Nathan Wagener, composite technician.

Academic honors

Matthew Sanda and Joseph Tribbey of Superior made the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

Sara Rybak of Danbury and Superior residents Kathryn Bassignana, Angela Carlson, Liza Forsberg, Samantha Hoye, Joseph Luder, James Ohman, Whitney Podgorak, Ashley Rydberg, Tony Schroeder, Timothy Semborski, Jennifer Stranko, Erland Niemi, Deandre Dubuche, Hunter Herzog, Taylor Lang, Brent Switzer, Angela Despot, Alex Jurek, Christeen Massey and Susan Carr made the dean’s list at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College in Cloquet, Minn.

Brianna Eales and Michael Hinaus of Superior made the dean’s list at Milwaukee School of Engineering.

Nichole Greely of Douglas County joins Wisconsin’s delegation to National 4-H Conference in Washington, D.C., where she joins more than 300 youth and adults from around the country to share ideas and form recommendations in guiding future national 4-H youth development programs in their communities.