Weather Forecast


Boyhtari nominated for NCAA Women of Year Award

University of Wisconsin-Superior’s Alissa Boyhtari is one of six Upper Midwest Athletic Conference female student-athletes nominated for the NCAA Women of the Year Award.

The NCAA announced a record-setting number of nominees for the award with 543 individuals recognized.

Boyhtari, who ran cross country at UWS, was joined on the nominee list by Taylor Gibson, St. Scholastica (indoor and outdoor track); Katie Hinkle, Crown College (volleyball, basketball); Karen Moe, Northwestern (tennis); Elissa Pheneger, North Central (volleyball); and Megan Sauer, Bethany Lutheran (cross country, indoor and outdoor track).

The UMAC will announce the conference’s selection for the honor that will move on to the next pool of nominees in July.

After the field is cut to 30 honorees, three from each division will be announced as finalists in September.

The final winner will be announced Oct. 22 at the annual award ceremony in Indianapolis.