Weather Forecast


Linzmeier named WIAC Player of the Year

UW-Superior's Sally Linzmeier (33) drives on UW-Stevens Point's Kaitlyn Jacobs during a game in Superior earlier this season. Linzmeier was named the 2014 WIAC Player of the Year. (Jed Carlson/

University of Wisconsin-Superior’s Sally Linzmeier has been named the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year for the 2013-14 season.

The junior guard from Valders, Wis., is the first Yellowjacket to ever receive the honor in women’s basketball.

Linzmeier was a force all over the court for the Yellowjackets, leading the WIAC in scoring and rebounding while residing in the top 10 in assists (sixth), blocked shots (ninth) and steals (second). She also ranked third in field goal percentage and second in free throw percentage among WIAC players.

Closer to home, Linzmeier’s banner season pushed her further up numerous all-time lists at UWS. Her 523 points established a new school record for points in a season, breaking her own mark set last year. She moved into fifth on the all-time scoring list and will enter her senior. season with 1,211 points, needing just 90 points to set a new school mark. Ahead of her on the scoring list are Sherri Odlevak (1,227 points), Brenda Headrick (1,242), Tammy Myer (1,262) and Sandy Eilertsen (1,300).

Linzmeier is 10th in all-time rebounds (549), sixth in all-time assists (204), and already owns the school record for steals (242). She currently is fourth in all-time field goals made (440) and all-time free throws made (304).

“This is an honor that is a direct tribute to her work ethic during the offseason and a love and passion for the game of basketball,” UWS coach Don Mulhern said. “Sally has a relentless desire to get better in every aspect of the game and takes every practice and every game as an opportunity to push herself to be the best she can be.

“She is the ultimate gym rat, and this honor from the conference is simply a logical outcome to the hours and effort that Sally puts in.”

In addition to the player of the year honor, Linzmeier was named All-WIAC First Team for the second straight season, and was named to the WIAC All-Defensive Team for the third year in a row.

Senior guard Britnee Blake, a former Superior Spartan, was also honored by the conference, being named UW-Superior’s entrant on the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

The Yellowjackets finished the 2013-14 season with a 16-12 record and reached the WIAC championship game for the first time in school history.

’JACKET JOTTINGS: Linzmeier was also all-conference honorable mention choice in 2012. She led the WIAC with 18.7 points and 8.8 rebounds per contest, while ranking second with 3.11 steals per game, sixth with 3.14 assists per contest and seventh with a .454 field goal percentage. … Linzmeier also reached double-figures in scoring in all 28 games, including 12 contests with 20-plus points and a season-high 32 points against UW-Stout on Feb. 25. She also produced a WIAC-high 13 double-doubles (points-rebounds) and had a season-best 19 rebounds against UW-Platteville on Jan. 4. … UW-Whitewater head coach Keri Carollo was chosen the Coach of the Year.

2014 All-WIAC Women’s Basketball Team

First Team

Stacy Clark, UWP; Alyssa Krajco, UWP; Katelyn Kuehl, UWO; Teenie Lichtfuss, UWEC; Sally Linzmeier, UW-Superior; Amy Mandrell, UWW; Mary Merg, UWW; Sarah Stecker, UWO; Kaitlyn Thill, UWW; Myranda Tyler, UWSP.

Honorable Mention

Katie Burton, UWW; Mallory Cramer, UWLC; Rachel Cropp, UWP; Katelynne Folkers, Stout; Kyleigh Hebert, Stout; Courtney Lewis, UWEC; Tess Lueders, UWRF; Ashley Neustifter, UWO; Alyssa Olp, UWSP; Jenna Pitt, UWSP; Taylor Schmidt, UWO; Sami Schoeder, Stout.

All-Defensive Team

Katelynne Folkers, Stout; Katelyn Kuehl, UWO; Sally Linzmeier, UW-Superior; Amy Mandrell, UWW; Kaitlyn Thill, UWW; Myranda Tyler, UWSP.

All-Sportsmanship Team

Rachel Egdorf, UWEC; Katie Ehlen, UWLC; Alissa Schuh, UWO; Melissa Carmody, UWP; Kristi Elles, UWRF; Claire Glodowski, UWSP; Sami Schoeder, Stout; Britnee Blake, UW-Superior; Chelsea Gieseke, UWW.

Player of the Year: Sally Linzmeier of Superior

Coach of the Year: Keri Carollo of UWW

Judy Kruckman Co-Scholar-Athletes: Myranda Tyler, UWSP; and Mary Merg, UWW.