Weather Forecast


Miller, Hansen named to all-state hockey team

Superior Telegram

Superior High School’s Aaron Miller and Grant Hanson were named to the Wisconsin Hockey Coaches Association All-State boys hockey team.

Miller, a senior, was named honorable mention for the second year on offense, and Hanson, a junior, was honorable mention on defense.

Other awards handed out included Eau Claire Memorial’s Jake Bresser being was named the player of the year; Antigo’s Matt Borneman was named the coach of the year; Dan Bauer of Wausau East was given the George Bauman Friends of Hockey Award; and Chequamegon/Phillips was the academic state champs with a 3.76 GPA.

Superior’s 3.66 GPA was tops in Section 1.

Miller, along with senior teammates Daniel Mikel and Paxton Paine also played for Section 1 in the Senior Class Tournament recently in Waupun.

Miller scored a team-high nine points with six goals and three assists as Section 1 went 2-1 in tournament. Miller had hat tricks in a 7-2 win over Section 6 and an 11-4 win over Section 7.

Mikel had an assist in the three games and Paine finished with a 3.41 goals against average and .884 saves percentage. Paine was also Superior’s selection for this year’s Hobey Baker award winner at the WIAA State Boys Hockey Tournament.