Weather Forecast


Lindstrom finalist for ESPN Player of the Year award

Superior's Jessica Lindstrom (21) is a finalist for the ESPN Player of the Year. (Jed Carlson/

Superior Telegram

Superior High School’s Jessica Lindstrom was named one of three finalists for Wisconsin girls high school basketball player of the year by ESPN Wisconsin.

The Wisconsin Sports Awards will take place on April 24 at the Kern Center in Milwaukee. The University of Wisconsin leads the nominations for the second year in a row, with nine, followed by Marquette University with five nominees.

More than 100 members of the media as well as sports business professionals throughout Wisconsin determined nominations for the 11 categories of the Wisconsin Sports Awards, which recognizes the best in Wisconsin sports throughout high school, college and professional arenas in 2013.

Also nominated for the top girls honor were Mackenzie Latt of Sussex Hamilton and Arike Ogunbowale of Divine Savior Holy Angels.

Cousins Subs’ recently established Make It Better Foundation will once again award $12,000 in scholarships to four high school students in conjunction with the Wisconsin Sports Awards.

Fans interested in attending the event have the opportunity to enter to win two tickets by voting online for the Time Warner Cable Business Class Fan Friendly Team of the Year and the Potawatomi Game of the Year at   

The full list of 2013 nominees includes: 

Girls High School Basketball Player of the Year

Mackenzie Latt, Sussex Hamilton

Jessica Lindstrom, Superior

Arike Ogunbowale, Divine Savior Holy Angels

Boys High School Basketball Player of the Year

Luke Fischer, Germantown

Bronson Koenig, La Crosse Aquinas 

Duane Wilson*, Whitefish Bay Dominican

High School Football Player of the Year

Mitchell Brees, Greendale

Dominic Cizauskas, Mukwonago

Matt  Ferris, Appleton Xavier

Professional Athlete of the Year

Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee Brewers

Matt Kenseth, NASCAR

Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers

Jordy Nelson, Green Bay Packers

Anthony Pettis, UFC

College Athlete of the Year

Jared Abrederris, Wisconsin football

Matt Behrendt, UW-Whitewater football

Vander Blue, Marquette basketball

Chris Borland, Wisconsin football

Lauren Carlini, Wisconsin volleyball

College Team of the Year

Marquette University men’s basketball

Marquette University men’s soccer

UW-Whitewater football

University of Wisconsin men’s basketball

University of Wisconsin volleyball

College Coach of the Year

Kris Kelderman, UW-Milwaukee men’s soccer

Lance Leipold, UW-Whitewater football

Bo Ryan, Wisconsin men’s basketball

Kelly Sheffield, Wisconsin volleyball

Buzz Williams, Marquette men’s basketball

Player of the Year

Chris Borland, Wisconsin football

Carlos Gomez, Milwaukee Brewers

Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers

Jordy Nelson, Green Bay Packers

Anthony Pettis, UFC

Team of the Year

Germantown boys basketball

Kimberly football

Marquette men’s basketball

UW-Whitewater football

Wisconsin volleyball

Coach of the Year

John Burke, Waukesha Catholic Memorial girl’s soccer

Kelly Sheffield, Wisconsin volleyball

Steve Showalter, Germantown boys basketball

Mike Stassi, Monona Grove football

Buzz Williams, Marquette men’s basketball

Homegrown Award

Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State golf

Joe Thomas, Cleveland Browns

J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Russell Wilson, Seattle Seahawks

Jordan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals