Weather Forecast


Update: Missing hunter found

Kennelly, Long win HON wrestling titles

Superior Telegram

Nick Long and Ross Kennelly won their respective weight classes at Saturday Heart O’ North Conference wrestling tournament at Northwestern High School.

Kennelly won the 160-pound class and Long was first at 113 pounds. Also for the Spartans, Joey McDonald place third at 182 pounds.

Kennelly entered the tournament with the No. 1 seed and got two pins on his way to the finals, where he defeated Preston Larson of Ladysmith 11-4. Larson was the retuning conference champ.

Long defeated Spooner’s Tre Lawrence, who was undefeated in the conference this season, in the championship match.

Long got off to a good start, scoring the first takedown and never looked back on his way a 7-2 win and his 2nd straight HON championship.

As a team, Superior finished in sixth place with 113.5 points. Spooner won the team title with 198 points.

“I’m so proud of this team, we had a great weekend and the boys wrestled great,” SHS coach Chip Brochu said. “We have had a great year as a team and individuals. The boys have been great all year. We are a very young team and have great chemistry.

“We’ve placed in two tournaments this year, including winning the Spartan Classic for the first time in school history. As coaches it is a pleasure to be in the room with this group of young men and to see how far they have come.”

Up next for Superior is the WIAA regional tournament Saturday at Chippewa Falls.

2014 HON Conference Tournament

1. Spooner, 198; 2. Cumberland, 180.5; 3. Ladysmith, 168.5; 4. Chetek-Weyerhauser-Prairie Farm, 164.5; 5. Bloomer/Colfax, 118; 6. Superior, 113.5; 7. Barron, 102.5; 8. Hayward, 80; 9. Northwestern, 78.

Superior Individual Results

113 — Nicholas Long (10-1), first place, 24 points: pinned Dawson Barber (L), 1:32; pinned Dylan Adair (H), 4:54; def. Tre Lawrence (Spooner), 7-2.

120 — Mike Berka (1-8): pinned by Lucas Graf (C), 2:29; and Anthony Wallace (CWPF), 4:45.

132 — Emanual Carson (8-4), fourth place, 14 points: pinned Dale Griffith (C), 0:56; pinned by Lane Deyo (H), 3:40; pinned Payden Long (L), 0:32; pinned by Brandon Jepson (Spooner), 2:08.

138 — Tyler Lehikoinen (4-4), fourth place, 11.5 points: def. Sam Newell (CWPF), 5-3; def. by  Max Patraw (C), 8-6; won by tech fall over Cody Gehl (B), 16-0; def. by Sam Newell (CWPF), 7-2.

145 — Jake Jaques (3-7): pinned Elijah Whittington (B), 0:15; pinned by Bucky Nelson (CWPF), 4:59; pinned by Jon Hayton (B/C), 1:36.

152 — Tony Mohr (2-8): pinned Travis Lewis (N), 0:13; pinned by Matt Ollinger (L), 1:56; lost to Dan Thorgerson (B/C), 11-4.

160 — Ross Kennelly (11-0), first place, 24 points: pinned Kyle Sorenson (H), 0:58; pinned Kirk Hart (CWPF), 1:23; def. Preston Larson (L), 11-4.

170 — Anthony Ells (2-7): pinned by Joe Vande Vrede (Spooner), 0:18; lost to Lassi Karppi (B/C).

182 — Joey McDonald (5-4), third place, 18 points: pinned Quint Schmidt (L), 3:45; pinned by Jaylen Lansin (C), 2:55; pinned Matt Shaw (B/C), 2:25; pinned Quint Schmidt (L), 2:37.

220 — Joseph Miller (6-6), fourth place, 12 points: def. Jean-Luc Stokes (CWPF), 10-9; pinned by Zach Shutt (Spooner), 1:28; pinned Alec Hraban (L), 1:28; pinned by Justin Little (N), 3:29.

285 — Keegan Stanley (5-7), fifth place, 10 points: pinned by Brady Chance (B/C), 2:47; pinned Jeremy Stewart (H), 0:23; pinned by Brad Baker (Spooner), 4:44; won by injury default over Casey Brown (B).