Weather Forecast


Track champs honored at AMSOIL, Proctor Speedway banquet

Jerry O’Brien

The AMSOIL Speedway and Proctor Speedway held their combined 2016 Awards Banquet Saturday, Oct. 29 at the Barker’s Island Inn in Superior. The event drew a crowd of more than 160.

After a social hour and dinner, the awards ceremony commenced and top drivers were honored.

Dennis McCauley presented the President’s Award to David Lindsey for his volunteer service to Proctor Speedway throughout the 2016 season.

Joe Stariha presented the Russ Laursen Award to Joanne O’Brien. The award is given to the person deemed to have served AMSOIL Speedway the most in a volunteer role in the 2016 season.

Rookies of the year

Proctor’s 2016 Rookies of the Year were Paul George (Hornets); Dylan Shelton (pure stock), Adam Shinn (super stock), Craig Lofdahl (Midwest modified) and Danny Vang.

Shelton, Lofdahl and Shinn repeated as rookies of the year at the AMSOIL Speedway.

Shelton finished in fourth place in track points in Superior and earned his first career feature win at the Northern Nationals.

Lofdahl finished eighth in track points and overcame early season problems and finished second in the Northern Nationals opening night feature.

Shinn finished 12th in points, and his season was highlighted by a seventh-place finish in the feature on July 22.

Sportsmen of the year

The Sportsman of the Year Awards at the Proctor Speedway included 13-year-old Hunter McDougall (Hornet), Al Rapp (pure stocks), Gunner Peterson (Midwest modifieds), Keith Koski (super stocks), Jody Bellefeuille (modified) and Aaron Lillo (late model).

The 2016 AMSOIL Speedway Sportsman of the Year winners were Kyle Copp (pure stocks), Dan Kingsley (Midwest modifieds), Keith Kern (super stocks), Bellefeuille (modified) and Terry Lillo (late model).

Track champions

The Proctor Speedway track champions are: David Beckwith (Hornets), Dustin Follett (pure stocks), Deven VanHouse (Midwest modifieds), Scott Lawrence (super stocks) and Darrell Nelson (modifieds and late models).

Beckwith dominated the first three weeks of the season by winning three heats and two features; Follett’s championship was his first; VanHouse won his third straight Midwest title with five heat wins, two feature wins and five top five feature runs; Lawrence’s sixth straight title didn’t include any feature wins, but four heat wins and top-five finishes in all nine shows; and Nelson’s run included four heat wins, two feature wins and nine top five finishes in 10 features.

Nelson also scored seven feature wins and four heat wins. It was the second time he has won both modified and late model titles in the same year.

Champions at the AMSOIL Speedway were Justin Weinberger (pure stocks), VanHouse (Midwest), Kevin Burdick (super stock), Nelson (modified) and Travis Budisalovich (late models).

Weinberger, from Park Falls, picked up a feature win, eight top-five finishes and his first championship at the speedway.

Silver Bay’s VanHouse, the 2012 track champion, had five heat wins, a feature win and eight top-five finishes.

Proctor’s Burdick won his first championship with two heat wins and three feature wins along with three second-place finishes during five top-five runs.

Nelson won six modified heats to go along with three feature wins and eight other top-five finishes, of which four were second-place runs.

Budisalovich, of Minneapolis, won his first ever championship at the speedway with five heat wins, two feature wins, including one of the Twin Ports Twin 25’s features, and seven top-five finishes.