Weather Forecast


Rampier, Thompson claim demo derby titles

Jerry Brown, left, and Chris Schmidt (53) sandwich the car of Jerod Thompson in the Full Size Car Championships during the Demolition Deberby at the Head of the Lakes Fair on Sept. 28. (Submitted photo)1 / 3
Mark Rampier2 / 3
Jerod Thompson3 / 3

John Kimmes

The crowd cheered as the sound of roaring engines and twisting metal filled the air during the Demolition Derby at the Head of the Lakes Fair on Sept. 28.

The event, which had a longstanding tradition of being the final attraction during the annual six-day fair, had been dropped from the line up in 2012 due to low car counts.

However, after receiving numerous requests from fans and drivers, officials decided to bring the event back for 2016, once again featuring a two-division format.

The compact cars were first to take center stage with a trio of competitors.

Taylor Engelbrecht’s car suffered mechanical failure early on, so the battle came down to the Mark Rampier of Poplar and Wrenshall’s Kyle House. The duo traded hits for several minutes before Rampier maneuvered his three wheeled Chevrolet Monte Carlo into position and delivered a couple of knockout blows to the front of House’s Oldsmobile.

In addition to the Compact Car Championship, Rampier was also named the winner of the Highway 35 Auto Sales Bonus.

Jerod Thompson of Cotton, Minn., took home top honors in the Full Size division after a close battle with defending champion Jerry Brown and Chris Schmidt.

Thompson was also presented with the Scrap Happy Auto Recycling Bonus and the Mad Dog Trophy, which is given to the competitor who registers the most and/or hardest legal hits throughout the event.

Planning is currently under way for the Head of the Lakes Fair to host a derby again in 2017, which may include a division for small trucks as well as one for minivans.

For more information, contact Jeremy Halverson, 218-940-5581, or John Engelbrecht, 715-919-3202.

Head of Lakes Fair

Demolition Derby

Compact Car Championship

1. Mark Rampier, Poplar

2. Kyle House, Wrenshall

3. Tayler Engelbrecht, Superior

Full Size Car Championship

1. Jerod Thompson, Cotton

2. Jerry Brown Lake, Nebagamon

3. Chris Schmidt, Maple