Weather Forecast


Kisling, Anderson, Deragon double up at ABC’s ‘Summer Blast’

Nick Gima

For The Telegram

ASHLAND — Another strong field of 96 cars — including some first-night visitors — filled the ABC Raceway’s pit area on Saturday night, and three of the five feature winners were repeat visitors to the track’s Victory Lane.

The track hosted its first-ever “Summer Blast,” a combination block party and family picnic which included food and drink specials, games for the kids, and giveaways to fans all night long, as well as deejay-provided music after the races.

The WISSOTA PolyDome Dirt Track Series five-division program, presented by Northern Wisconsin Fence of Phillips and Outlaw Wraps & Apparel of Ashland, was kicked off by a half-hour on-track “meet the drivers” autograph session sponsored by Little Caesar’s Pizza of Ashland.

The repeat winners included Shane Kisling of Park Falls in the WISSOTA Super Stocks, Ashland’s Matt Deragon in the WISSOTA Pure Stocks, and Bubba Anderson of Trego in the ABC Six-Cylinders. Steve Stuart of Ashland grabbed his third feature win of the summer but first since June at ABC in the WISSOTA Modifieds, and Wayne Stricker of Highbridge topped the WISSOTA Midwest Modifeds for his first win in Ashland since June 2014.

On Saturday the ABC Raceway will host its third annual Hall of Fame induction ceremonies, as well as its “Race to a Cure for Cancer” fundraiser night.

The Raceway will also rely on the never-ending generosity of its fans, drivers and sponsors in its efforts to raise funds for the American Cancer Society, with Northern Clearing offering to match the first $1,000 in donated funds.

Hot laps are set for 6:15 p.m., and green-flag racing starts at 7 p.m. Adult tickets are $11, and fans ages 12 and under are admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult.

ABC (Ashland) Raceway

Saturday, Aug. 6

WISSOTA Modifieds

Feature: Steve Stuart, Ashland; Bill Byholm, Glidden; Paul Wrazidlo, Duluth; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Neil Balduc, Bessemer, Mich.; Al Uotinen, Superior; Mike Anderson, Colfax; Steve Lavasseur, River Falls; Pat Cook, Washburn; Rick Rivord, Superior; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Scott Hudack, Ashland; Jacob Hiatt, New Richmond; Dustin Hudack, Ashland; Jeff Spacek, Phillips; Paul Niznik, Medford.

Heat 1: Stuart; Wrazidlo; Balduc; Niznik; Eder; Lavasseur; Hiatt.

Heat 2: Spacek; Anderson; Byholm; Mikkonen; S Hudack; Uotinen; D Hudack; Rivord.

WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature: Shane Kisling, Park Falls; Pat Beeksma, Ironwood, Mich.; Nick Oreskovich, Mason; Jim Campbell, Two Harbors; Scott Lawrence, Superior; Jeff Klopstein Jr., Tomahawk; Cory Casari, Montreal; Shawn McFadden Jr.; Ashland; Terran Spacek, Phillips; Charlie Anderson, Ironwood, Mich.; Steve Thomas, Menomonie; Don Muzzy, Ironwood, Mich.; Myron Basina, Washburn; Jordan Kurtti, Bruce Crossing, MI; Randy Spacek, Phillips; Greg Kuklinski, Ironwood, Mich.; Keith Corcilius, Phillips; Aaron Mashlan, Ashland; Cory Marincel, Ashland; Colten Vernon, Ashland.

Heat 1: Kisling; Klopstein; R Spacek; Beeksma; Vernon; T Spacek; Corcilius.

Heat 2: Casari; Anderson; Oreskovich; Muzzy; Kurtti; Kuklinski; Marincel.

Heat 3: McFadden; Lawrence; Campbell; Thomas; Basina; Mashlan.

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Feature: Wayne Stricker, Highbridge; Ryan Adamzak, Ashland; Tanner Hicks, Ashland; Cole Spacek, Phillips; Shane Kisling, Park Falls; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Duane Dunbar, Marenisco, Mich.; Marcus Dunbar, Marenisco, Mich.; Tanner Byholm, Glidden; Paul Suzik, Ironwood, Mich.; George Dalbeck, Wakefield, Mich.; John Kallas, Hurley; Brady Mesko-Jokinen, Mellen; Tyler Hudack, Ashland; Tad Bretting, Ashland; Brandon Copp, Eau Claire; Tyler Luger, Iron River; Clay Passuello, Ironwood, MI; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland; Jordan Barningham, Bayfield; Ryan Barningham, Bayfield; Tyler Vernon, Ashland; Kyle Runkle, Chetek; Shane Halopka, Greenwood.

Heat 1: Hicks; Spacek; Copp; J Barningham; Kallas; Passuello; Bill Muhlig, Bessemer, Mich.; Ross Fuhrman, Ashland.

Heat 2: Stricker; Suzik; Dalbeck; Vernon; Halopka; Gunner Peterson, Cable; R Barningham.

Heat 3: M Dunbar; Byholm; Bretting; Kisling; Hudack; Runkle; Cy Hoaglan, Ashland.

Heat 4: Eder; Adamzak; Luger; Mesko-Jokinen; D Dunbar; Lindquist; Robert Hyde, Ashland.

Semi-Feature: Runkle; Lindquist; R Barningham; Passuello; Peterson; Fuhrman; Muhlig; Hyde; Hoaglan.


Feature: Bubba Anderson, Trego; Tiffany Hudack, Ashland; Forrest Schultz, Ashland; Joshua Saunders, Spooner; Scott Ovaska, Marengo; Dalton Truchon, Ashland; Adam Traaholt, Ashland; Brendon Ottman, Ashland; Bella Bretting, Washburn; Joe Newago, Bayfield; Cole Vernon, Ashland; DeJay Jarecki, Ashland; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland.

Heat 1: Anderson; Saunders; Truchon; Ottman; Newago; Bretting; Lindquist.

Heat 2: Schultz; Hudack; Ovaska; Jarecki; Vernon; Traaholt.

WISSOTA Pure Stocks

Feature: Matt Deragon, Ashland; Randy Graham, Trego; Justin Weinberger, Park Falls; Andrew Hanson, Iron River; Chad Carlson, Superior; Chad Nikstad, Superior; Brandle Pupp, Ashland; Randy Conner, Hayward; Andy Poll, Two Harbors; Don Livingston, Ashland; Joshua Kallas, Hurley; Bob Skrobot, Manitowish Waters; Jason Havel, Rice Lake; Brock Beilke, Hayward; Jeff Christman, South Range; Zene Anderson, Superior; Steve Pohl, Manitowish Waters.

Heat 1: Havel; Christman; Weinberger; Hanson; Pohl; Conner; Poll; Carlson; Beilke.

Heat 2: Graham; Deragon; Livingston; Pupp; Nikstad; Skrobot; Anderson; Kallas.